CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Active Member
ldcadman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 1 of 8 (1,675 Views)
Accepted Solution

Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

1675 Views, 7 Replies
02-23-2012 04:02 PM

Many times I have found users have selected a different color, weight, etc than the "Bylayer" settings of a layer.

 

Is there a simple, fast way to re-set all the BYLAYER control settings besides selecting each one and setting bylayer?

I was thinking perhaps a custom icon on a toolbar. I have not been able to find the specific command language and how those commands might be strung together.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

CECOLOR BYLAYER

CELWEIGHT 1

CELTYPE BYLAYER

CETRANSPARENCY BYLAYER

 

should get you started

Distinguished Mentor
skintsubby
Posts: 549
Registered: ‎09-29-2004
Message 2 of 8 (1,671 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-23-2012 11:33 PM in reply to: ldcadman

Try the SETBYLAYER command... and add it to an icon macro

 

I've not tried it but it'll be something like...

 

^C^C-SETBYLAYER;ALL;;;^C^C

 

Mark

Active Member
ldcadman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 3 of 8 (1,664 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-24-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: ldcadman

Ok, I tried that - it changes the actual elenets in the file.

I don't want to do that although it be usefull

 

What I would like to do is re-set the color, line type and weight  to "By Layer" in the Properties toolbar.

 

 

Mark

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,902
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 8 (1,657 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-24-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: ldcadman

Do you just need to set what gets changed with SETBYLAYER command?

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/online-help/ACD/2012/ENU/pages/WS1a9193826455f5ff104f57f10e...

 

Or just change the selection in that macro from ALL to something else?

 

Or are you talking about something else when you state "..it changes the actual elenets in the file..."?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
ldcadman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 5 of 8 (1,654 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-24-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: pendean

I am looking for an easy, efficient way to set the color, line type and weight to BY LAYER in the Properties Toolbar with one button, instead of having to select each in the Properties Toolbar and set it to back to BY LAYER after someone else has selected another value for them that propably isn't a CAD Standard.

 

I am not looking for a way to change the attributes of elements in the file.

 

 

Thanks,

Mark

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,200
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 6 of 8 (1,647 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-24-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: ldcadman

CECOLOR BYLAYER

CELWEIGHT 1

CELTYPE BYLAYER

CETRANSPARENCY BYLAYER

 

should get you started

Active Member
ldcadman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 7 of 8 (1,643 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-24-2012 02:42 PM in reply to: ldcadman

Thanks for all the suggestions, most worked.

However, after some trial and error, the value of -1 will set the line weight to BY LAYER in the Properties Toolbar

 

Thanks again,

Mark

Active Contributor
wundrlik
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 8 of 8 (1,628 Views)

Re: Re-Set color, linestyle, line weight to Bylayer

02-27-2012 05:16 AM in reply to: ldcadman

I'll throw my 2 cents in as well.  I run into this quite often with our drawings, so I have a lisp routine that I use:

 

(defun c:BYL ()
(setq uecho (getvar "cmdecho"))
(setvar "cmdecho" 0)
(prompt "\nSelect Items To Change To BYLAYER :")
(setq ps1 (ssadd))
(setq ps1 (ssget))
(command "CHANGE" ps1 "" "P" "C" "BYLAYER" "LT" "BYLAYER" "LW" "BYLAYER" "")
(setvar "cmdecho" uecho)
(princ)
)

 

Once this is loaded you can make a button on the toolbar/ribbon to run the command

Ryan A Wunderlich
Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.