CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Member
pcaruthers
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 1 of 10 (821 Views)

qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

821 Views, 9 Replies
03-13-2013 07:20 AM

I've done several searches regarding this with much luck....I find it hard to believe this is an uncommon practice....  Normally I like to store back up files on the users hard drive and not in the project folder on the Server.  I have done this at most companies I've worked for,  but I have never received this msg before.... The files do get save to the new location, but this msg appears.  Admittedly Its been several years that I've been out of the "game", So if this is a redundant question I apologize.

 

Currently running Architecture 09.

 

Paul Caruthers

Architectural Concepts

Paul Caruthers
Architectural Concepts, Inc.
Largo, FL
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 10 (820 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 07:28 AM in reply to: pcaruthers

Sounds like something else is going on: test it out by using another AutoCAD or Windows profile first.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 10 (804 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: pcaruthers

If you're using MoveBak possibly this.

 

Allen Jessup

Member
pcaruthers
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 4 of 10 (803 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: pcaruthers

I knew I could count on you Dean.  Glad to see you are still around, you have always been very helpful in the past...

Anyway, I have tried this on several workstation and different profiles.  At first I thought it may be the 2009 vs windows 07 issue, but it also happens on my workstation (which is still running XP).  I've checked to ensure the user set up is for full admin rights .... I'm at a loss on

 

Paul Caruthers
Architectural Concepts, Inc.
Largo, FL
Member
pcaruthers
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 5 of 10 (800 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 08:04 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Allen, you are correct.  I have used the express tool to move the files.....which is how I've done it in the past.  But have never received that msg prior to this...

Paul Caruthers
Architectural Concepts, Inc.
Largo, FL
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 10 (793 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: pcaruthers

Hi Paul, good to see you back. I don't use MoveBak, I do it differently, so I can't say. But  I found that link and four others that said basically the same thing. So I thought it was a good guess.

 

Allen Jessup

Member
pcaruthers
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 7 of 10 (790 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thanks Allen, It's good to be back :-)

 

My I ask how you do this?

Paul Caruthers
Architectural Concepts, Inc.
Largo, FL
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 10 (785 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 08:42 AM in reply to: pcaruthers

Well.......  For one thing. I'm not concerned with server space. That's IT. An old fight that I wont go in to. What I want is to make sure I have backups on the hard drives. So I path the temp files to their own directory and deny the "System" rights to erase files. So none of my temp files go away even if the program closed correctly. I use Civil 3D and having multiple backups can save a lot of time in the event of something going sour and not being noticed for a while.

 

Of course that means more work for me. I have to go in to the temp file every couple of weeks and clean them up manually. After about 6 months I write all the files that are left on to DVD and start fresh.

 

Allen

Member
pcaruthers
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 9 of 10 (781 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

I do that with the Autosave...never considered the temp files, but thats a good idea... so do have you turned of the .bak files completely? or do you still have those in your drawing location?  For better or worse...IT is a a dual hat that I wear... but, storage is not the only concern....but it is one of them.   I just don't like seeing all those files in the project folder. :-)

Paul Caruthers
Architectural Concepts, Inc.
Largo, FL
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 10 (772 Views)

Re: qsave Unable to transmit selected drawing file.

03-13-2013 10:48 AM in reply to: pcaruthers
I send Autosave and temp files to the same folder. BAK files are still created with the DWG files. But they only go one save back. If I've missed something that breakes a Civil 3D object and save over a good file. Without incremental backups it could be bad. For some reason I also get BAK files of the Autosave files. Allen ----------------------------------------------------------------- This email, including attachments, may include confidential and/or proprietary information. If the reader of this email is not the intended recipient or his or her authorized agent, the reader is hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, or copying of this email is prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify the sender by replying to this message and deleting this email immediately.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.