Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Populating Tool Palette Changes Across Network

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
caldicad
2242 Views, 9 Replies

Populating Tool Palette Changes Across Network

Please bear with me I'm pretty new to Tool Paletts, and I'm just wondering if I'm missing something here.

I've got a bunch of users who use a company custom palette that is located in a network location so all users can access it which is fine.

Am I correct in thinking that if the CAD Manager makes an amendment to that Palette the process for populating the change is for the CAD Manager to Export it on his machine, and then Import it on each individual users machine?

Is there not a way of the users getting the change automatically as you would if a custom CUI file were amended?

I've gone through other posts but I've not really found a decent solution.

How do CAD Managers handle this?

Thanks for any help.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
dgorsman
in reply to: caldicad

This is almost entirely dependant on whether tool palette groups are being used.  If not, then you can just modify the tool palette in a folder with read/write access and then upload the ATC and associated image folder to the common network location.  Palette groups do not work well with common read-only network folders, in this case it would be better to have all palette files in local folders along with a copy-local procedure to keep the common ones synchronized across all computers.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 10
caldicad

Thanks very much for the response, I'll check it out.

Message 4 of 10
WilliamJ