CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor ken
Distinguished Contributor
ken
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎09-26-2003
Message 1 of 4 (781 Views)

PDF makers - We use Bluebeam - What do you use?

781 Views, 3 Replies
06-20-2011 08:54 AM

I work for an engineering firm that likes to use shading in a lot of our symbols.  A few years back we started using Bluebeam PDF Revu for most of our PDF making from Cad but the "Flattening" of the PDFs when printing has really annoyed some of our clients.  I know that its the shading thats causing the problems but I wondering if anyone else has had this issue and what PDF maker do you use?

 

Sincerely,

Heinzk1

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,510
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (777 Views)

Re: PDF makers - We use Bluebeam - What do you use?

06-20-2011 10:11 AM in reply to: ken

"flattening" is because you either saved layers to the PDF, or you turned on LINE OVERWRITE, or both. Either creates what you ask the program to do, create layers for printed objects. These must be flattened (ask any Photoshop users about this annoying feature from Adobe) to print.

 

Do your clients really and truly need layer access? Then explain the issue. If not, turn it off. Same with LineMerge: 99% of clients do not ever care for or use either of those two features, only we AutoCAD users think they are important.

 

DWG to PDF.pC3 file to answer your question about which driver, best results if you are in 2010 and higher versions of AutoCAD.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
jmcintyre
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 3 of 4 (715 Views)

Re: PDF makers - We use Bluebeam - What do you use?

06-30-2011 03:38 PM in reply to: ken

Acroplot pro. I looked at bluebeam but found acroplot made smaller files.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 4 (698 Views)

Re: PDF makers - We use Bluebeam - What do you use?

07-05-2011 05:24 AM in reply to: ken

PDF995 since I have it and it is set-up but 90% of the time it is DWG to PDF.pc3.

You can include/exclude Layer Information in the Publish Options dialog.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.