CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 1 of 9 (619 Views)

Options - Profile Questions

619 Views, 8 Replies
07-17-2013 09:55 AM

All,

 

I am new to being a Cad Manager so i apologise if any of these questions seem to simple. I have never intentionally created any profile within CAD, when i owned my own company i had a single computer therefore i had only the need to set up one computer. Because i know have many to setup I  created an .arg profile and exported to a spot on the server and uploaded it to everyone elses computer. I am curious of what all gets transfered with a .arg file and if there is a way to have an .arg file on a server that when i make changes it automatically updates all computers.

 

I guess the ultimate question would be.

 

I am new to managing a group of Computers running Civil 3d, Does anyone have any good articles or tips they could point me to.

 

Thanks for any responses.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 9 (614 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-17-2013 10:26 AM in reply to: dmartin

An ARG file mostly contains a lot of Registry settings and some pallet definitions. You can open it in Notepad and take a look.

 

There's no way to make them update automatically without writing a program that will automatically import the profile every time AutoCAD starts. You used to be able to do it through the desktop icon but that went away a few versions ago.

 

Allen Jessup

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 3 of 9 (607 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-17-2013 10:53 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Do you believe that a .arg is the best way to transfer settings within a network, or is there a better way?

 

I only ask because i noticed the .arg appeared to take insignificant setting from my computer and load it to other users. for example i keep my command prompt a certain way and it is being brought with the arg. when i update there computer they close and open cad and the icon tells it to load the company profile which changes the command prompt again.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,648
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 9 (586 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-17-2013 01:58 PM in reply to: dmartin

I use built in functionality (i.e. AutoCAD startup files) to set the settings we want at startup time.  It doesn't care about profiles, profile names, or anything else. It simply sets the defined settings at startup.

 

I have been successfully using this system for 10 years, with various flavors of AutoCAD, AutoCAD Map, Land Desktop, Civil 3D, etc.

 

If you're interested in this path, reply back.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 9 (575 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-18-2013 04:46 AM in reply to: dmartin

dmartin wrote:

Do you believe that a .arg is the best way to transfer settings within a network, or is there a better way?


Maybe not the best way. But as you've noticed, it's an easy way. You can also set up the desktop Icons to start with specific profiles once you have them set up.

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\AecBase.dbx" /p "C3D Imperial 2.0"

 

cpf.PNG

 

You can also use /w to specify a specific Workspace. See: Icon Switches

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 9 (570 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-18-2013 05:09 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

This would be a more complicated one:

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\AecBase.dbx" /nologo /p "C3D Imperial 2.0"
/t "P:\Caddlib\Template\C3D Imperial 2012.dwt" /w "Civil 3D 2.0"

 

also specifying the template and workspace to start with.

 

This is useful not only in standardizing the way users start the program, but in giving choices on what profile, template and workspace is loaded. So users can be set up for different tasks simply by choosing the correct Icon.

 

Allen

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 7 of 9 (565 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-18-2013 05:31 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

R.K. McSwain:

 

I am interested in the startup file method. i remember working for a company that had a folder full of lisp routines that automatically loaded at startup, but i never knew how to set it up.

 

 

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 8 of 9 (562 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-18-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Allen,

 

I never knew the icon alone had so much power. Thank you for all the insight.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 9 (559 Views)

Re: Options - Profile Questions

07-18-2013 05:47 AM in reply to: dmartin

Dave,

 

Your very welcome. As far as loading Lisp files at startup. Read up on the acaddoc.lsp file. You can also the lisp SETVAR function to make sure the system variables are set as you expect. I'll attach a partial file.

 

Allen

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.