CAD Managers

Reply
Active Member
cadMeister
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-07-2006
Message 251 of 255 (411 Views)

Re: My first CAD test: Was I too tough?

09-17-2007 06:09 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
Lots of firms have spent years wondering what the 'best test', and many are moving away from administering an in-house CAD test and are using software called CADsmart (http://www.cadsmart.net) to test new hires - it's pretty neat in terms of testing the fundamental skills, and it's all automated.

It can be used to identify training needs in your current team too, rather than taking an expensive 'scatter-gun' approach.
*olu
Message 252 of 255 (411 Views)

Re: My first CAD test: Was I too tough?

11-01-2007 04:39 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
will it be possible to get your answers to this fab cad test. and do you
have a practical test I can nick of you too.
many thanks in advance.

Olu
please send reply to oaa7@tribalps.co.uk

wrote in message news:5610785@discussion.autodesk.com...
I don't think it is a good test! I have been in Cad since 78, starting on
mainframes - and since I had always used a tablet until the last few
releases - I am not a big typer - I totally use the menus, etc. I have been
a Cad Manager for 10 years- I have attached my test which I think is way
more relative to the work at hand. If you want the answers let me know and
I will send them.
Regards
Active Member
janetkissho
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-20-2013
Message 253 of 255 (374 Views)

Re: My first CAD test: Was I too tough?

12-08-2013 02:09 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni

not bad at first :smileyhappy:

What is an easy way to open an Xref from a parent file?
What is an easy way to close a Polyline?
What support file do you modify to create custom command aliases?

these questions I liked the most here are also some more interesting ones

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 254 of 255 (265 Views)

Re: My first CAD test: Was I too tough?

01-08-2014 12:21 PM in reply to: *Fred

regarding autosaves:

 

they only delete if you have the permissions set on the folder they are created in set to permit them to be deleted :-)

 

after i needed a few autosaves that autodesk decided i didn't need because cad closed as expected, i said ok, well we'll just change the permissions on that folder and solve that problem.

 

:smileysurprised:

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Valued Contributor
tedwardspg
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-13-2014
Message 255 of 255 (68 Views)

Re: My first CAD test: Was I too tough?

06-16-2014 02:46 PM in reply to: jackshield

Why dont you sit them down at a CAD station with a DWG adn tell them they have 20 min to xref the ttbl.dwg and the back ground. then thell them you want them to insert a few blocks and do some drawing. If they get 1/2 to 3/4 done with what you want them to do and do it correctly have them come back for a secont interview. Being CAD smart and being able to answer some stupid questions that you want them to answer to see if they know enough to take your job is kinda backward if you ask me.

ACA 2013
Windows 7 enterprise
Intel core i7 860 @ 2.80GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 - 4GB
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.