CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Contributor
AutoCUD
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-24-2006
Message 1 of 14 (10,991 Views)

Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

10991 Views, 13 Replies
01-15-2013 11:32 AM

I am trying to upgrade our monitors and would appreciate some feedback on what others are using. Is anyone using a 30" or larger display? Or is it better to go with two 24" or 27" displays? Any and all suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advace for your comments.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 14 (10,985 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

01-15-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: AutoCUD

32" Sharp Aquos and (2) 24" Asus 16:9 Monitors.

More is better!

DVI or HDMI connections only. VGA is not clear enough.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
Wanderer-MOTD
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 3 of 14 (10,964 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

01-16-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: AutoCUD

My shared workstations have larger monitors (32" and 50" iirc), and my own workstation has 2 - 20".

 

I do like the larger monitor, it is good for viewing scans of prints. But, on the days I have to work on one of them for an extended period, I find that I do miss the application separation I typically enjoy with two separate monitors.

Melanie Perry
***not all those who wander are lost***
http://AUGI.com/Surveys
http://MistressOfTheDorkness.blogspot.com

My defunct profiles:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/651859
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/644095
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,268
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 14 (10,955 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

01-16-2013 01:09 PM in reply to: AutoCUD

Dual monitors are best.  Even with the "extra" space a widescreen monitor provides, its not enough with all the extra palettes, torn-off ribbon panels, PDF reference files, and the like.  Something else to keep in mind is monitor sizes are corner-corner, so a 16:9 28" monitor may actually be *shorter* than a 24" 4:3 monitor.  Thats one of the reasons I prefer the older, non-widescreen monitors.  That, and a pair of them extends to the limit of my readable field of view.  Anything beyond that isn't useful for much.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,343
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 14 (10,940 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

01-17-2013 11:03 AM in reply to: AutoCUD

AutoCUD wrote:

Is anyone using a 30" or larger display? Or is it better to go with two 24" or 27" displays? Any and all suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advace for your comments.


IMO - 2-24" is nice, 2-27" if you can swing the price difference.

We have some of both. The 24" is ±236 sq. in., while the 27" is ±306 sq. in. --- quite a difference.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,343
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 14 (10,940 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

01-17-2013 11:05 AM in reply to: Wanderer-MOTD

Wanderer-MOTD wrote:

My shared workstations have larger monitors (32" and 50" iirc)


50"? Nice.

Is this a TV or a monitor?

Distinguished Contributor
Wanderer-MOTD
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 7 of 14 (10,935 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

01-17-2013 11:16 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

It's a monitor. The largest one IT had. Once we went over that size, it would be tvs from the av department and they were much more spendy.

 

~checking my project folder~ Ah, my bad, looks like my memory did not serve me well...  32" was correct, but, the other was actually a 42". 

 

Ah, according to the original proposal I received from the admin overseeing that space, she wanted a 50" or 60" tv and I had to make her settle for a 42" monitor instead. lol. I'm so mean.

Melanie Perry
***not all those who wander are lost***
http://AUGI.com/Surveys
http://MistressOfTheDorkness.blogspot.com

My defunct profiles:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/651859
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/644095
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 489
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 8 of 14 (10,790 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

02-11-2013 02:56 AM in reply to: Wanderer-MOTD

What sort of resolutions are people using?

 

I've currently got a pair of 20" Dells on my desk, 1200x1600 which I consider a good setup. Hoever given the abundance of widescreens formatted for 1080 lines I'm curious as to how folks find this reduction in vertical space.

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 14 (10,783 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

02-11-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

1366x768  32" Sharp Aquos

1920x1080 Asus 24" Monitor

All are widescreen 16:9 I believe

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,343
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 14 (10,773 Views)

Re: Monitor Selection for AutoCAD 2013

02-11-2013 08:35 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

GilesPhillips wrote:

What sort of resolutions are people using?

 


1920 x 1080

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.