Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 3
eviele
151 Views, 2 Replies

Minimal Cad Standards

We had some down time so I did a few things to help with the cad management in this office (we use ADT3.3). Now, things are ramping up to breakneck speed and I'll be put on a project full time (yeah, I'm only an occasional cad manager for 30 drafters and a half-baked one at that). What I'm wondering is this; what simple tools have I forgotten to add that are a requisite for good cad management?
Here's what I've done: web enabled standards manual easily accesible by all, custom dictionary, networked pc3 and ctb files, custom layer key, dimension styles, room and department space tags, room finish schedule, custom user profile, file naming standard, file structure standard, x-ref procedure, wall, window and door styles...what else? Ummm...well, we have no standards for title blocks or pagesetups just yet, we have very little automation as i'm a lisp and script idiot....i can't think of much else (we plan on utilizing the scheduling power of ADT3.3 as much as possible, but I'm gonna help set it up as a team needs it). I feel like we've hit a plateau with the standards, a period where we need to pause and make sure everyone understands what's all ready there. We also need to make sure they're implementing the standards (I've downloaded the Cad Manager extension to help with that). So can you guru's think of a few quick things I should add in the next week to the standards template, or manual that I've forgotten? Some cad standard staple that I'm blatantly overlooking? Thanks in advance for your comments....e.
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: eviele

training, display configurations, text styles, methods of annotation, i.e.
keynoting verses just text call outs, window assembly styles, sharing files