CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 1 of 11 (681 Views)

FlexLM License Cascade Problem

681 Views, 10 Replies
04-04-2012 07:20 AM

I'm getting very frustrated with Autodesk's FlexLM licensing and hope someone here can help.  So far, our local resellar can't even seem to figure this out.

 

Although we own several Autodesk products that have this issue, I'll stick with our main priority which is Revit.

 

We own:

 

Revit Architecture 2012 - 7 seats

Revit MEP 2012 - 3 seats

Revit Structure 2012 - 2 seats

Autodesk Building Design Suite 2012 - 10 seats

 

When advised by our reseller to add Revit seats by purchasing the Suite for reasons of cost, we were told that we could install products with a single serial number and the relative product keys and have all the products cascade such that all licenses are available.  For example, we should be able to get a maximum of 17 Revit Architecture licenses when that generic serial number was used.

 

One source told us that using the generic serial number (Revit-specific?), 400-0000000, and the product code would work for all revit versions, but so far it has not, regardless of what media I try, including the download fromt the subscription site.

 

Any ideas how to do this?  Is it possible?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 11 (671 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

it sounds like you want to combine the building suite serial # into the revit architecture serial number?

Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 3 of 11 (669 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Correct.

 

I'll add that we have the same need with 3DS and AutoCAD, for which we have both non-suite and suite seats.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 11 (661 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:00 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

i know there were problems with all the new 2012 suites with regards to cascading

like this one: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17565918&linkID=16831209

Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 5 of 11 (657 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Darren,

 

The linked article included this paragraph:

 

"In order to resolve this issue, install AutoCAD 2012 from the Building Design Suite media using the Building Design Suite 2012 Product Key.   AutoCAD with the Building Design Suite Product key will be able to use a license from AutoCAD or the Building Design Suite license packages that are on the license server."

 

This suggests that using the Suite Serial Number and Product Key will cascade downwards to the non-suite licenses and would likely work for all prducts in the suite.  I suppose the only way to know if that works would be to try it and watch the activity on the server.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 11 (655 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

i would test it on a non production machine if possible

Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 7 of 11 (652 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: DarrenP

That's what I intend to do.  Thanks again.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 11 (649 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

i would have to do research on your serial number question

i know you can combine serial numbers for revit arch 2012 into another revit arch 2012 serial # on the same sub contract

i never heard of combing serial numbers of revit arch 2012 into a building suite serial number

Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 9 of 11 (647 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I found another article that suggested the same process as the one you linked to.

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/08/autodesk-suites-building-design-suite-2012-doesnt...

 

It seems that with 2012 products the process is backwards, with licenses casdading downwards from the suite, as long as the suite package is listed after the stand-alones in the license file, which it is in my file.

 

I did find that I can use the suite numbers with the downloaded Revit install files.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 11 (643 Views)

Re: FlexLM License Cascade Problem

04-04-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

will have to wait and see if this was fixed with the 2013 suites

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.