CAD Managers

Reply
*James Maeding
Message 1 of 11 (350 Views)

Etransmit becoming useless

350 Views, 10 Replies
05-27-2009 09:40 AM
My users run etransmit a lot.
Lately, they are finding it crashes out on a drawing or two, leaving them wondering what did not get copied to the
target folder.
What is happening is its choking on either lower version drawings, or objects in the drawing.
Its quite sensitive it seems, as the Civil Batch Converter does not choke on the same files.

I'mm seeing about 1/2 of etransmit attempts fail, and we are very careful about saving our files up to 2007 version.
Ettransmit is obviously trying to dig into the drawings and just does not handle errors well in 2009.

Is this common to others, or not? We deal with a lot of variety of files from consultants, so I would expect it cannot
get any worse than our mix.

In stead of Etransmit, I am using my purgeIDs tool to collect xrefs and copy to folder, then running Civil Batch
Converter after if needed.
The PurgeIDs has a button to "copy selected files to folder", but does not do images yet.
Several users have asked if etransmit is supported any more, as if its degraded, that is how they experience it.
thx
James Maeding
Civil Engineer and Programmer
jmaeding - at - hunsaker - dotcom
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

05-27-2009 09:45 AM in reply to: *James Maeding
no such failures here, but we do not use Civil version, just AutoCAD, LT and
ACA.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*James Maeding
Message 3 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

05-27-2009 09:50 AM in reply to: *James Maeding
I do think its related to objects from civil verticals.
These are files that open, plot, edit and save fine all day, then fail on etransmit.

Dean Saadallah
|>no such failures here, but we do not use Civil version, just AutoCAD, LT and
|>ACA.
|>
|>--
|>Dean Saadallah
|>http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
James Maeding
Civil Engineer and Programmer
jmaeding - at - hunsaker - dotcom
Valued Contributor
cstruckmann
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 4 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

05-27-2009 01:24 PM in reply to: *James Maeding
i assume one of the xrefs doesn't behave as it should. try the run the etransmit command with slightly different settings. exclude certain xref's, or change some settings (main visual fidelity...). or when running etransmit and it states "processing xx of xx drawings", do you see at which drawings it chokes? look at that drawing very carefully (xref anno scales, xclip, purge and audit, large images)
*James Maeding
Message 5 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

05-27-2009 01:58 PM in reply to: *James Maeding
Its usually one or two of our medium to larger files that are clean, but still have lots of stuff.
I could do a lot of troubleshooting like you say, but I was wondering if lots of others are seeing this happen also, and
not saying anything.

You do have to save 2004 version files to 2007 to get 2009 to work well, and I see a lot of people stumble on that.
Once past though, its suprising to see etransmit choke.
I still use it to collect images, but work around it for drawings.

Its a shame as its a good feature I've always liked.


cstruckmann <>
|>i assume one of the xrefs doesn't behave as it should. try the run the etransmit command with slightly different settings. exclude certain xref's, or change some settings (main visual fidelity...). or when running etransmit and it states "processing xx of xx drawings", do you see at which drawings it chokes? look at that drawing very carefully (xref anno scales, xclip, purge and audit, large images)
James Maeding
Civil Engineer and Programmer
jmaeding - at - hunsaker - dotcom
Active Member
santacad
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-29-2008
Message 6 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

07-09-2009 07:18 AM in reply to: *James Maeding
Are you binding? I always had better success with eTransmit when we were not binding.

HTH.
Active Member
santacad
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-29-2008
Message 7 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

07-09-2009 07:18 AM in reply to: *James Maeding
Are you binding? I always had better success with eTransmit when we were not binding.

HTH.
*James Maeding
Message 8 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

07-09-2009 01:20 PM in reply to: *James Maeding
Its on by default, which is unbelievable, but its off in all etransmits we do.

santacad <>
|>Are you binding? I always had better success with eTransmit when we were not binding.
|>
|>HTH.
James Maeding
Civil Engineer and Programmer
jmaeding - at - hunsaker - dotcom
Mentor
markdoel
Posts: 914
Registered: ‎04-11-2008
Message 9 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

07-09-2009 07:37 PM in reply to: *James Maeding
Works fine for us and like you we NEVER bind files......we were / are using 2008 and 2010...(skipped 2009)

Our files get automatically audited and purged on a save/exit which might be helping us.

there are posts on these discussion groups relating to problems with e transmit but most of these seem to be where users are using it to bind files.
*Matt.Anderson
Message 10 of 11 (350 Views)

Re: Etransmit becoming useless

07-12-2009 08:44 PM in reply to: *James Maeding
James -

Yes, we have had issues with etransmit with Civil 3d for years.
2006/2007 was horrible, but it is better with each release.

Matthew Anderson, PE



James Maeding wrote:
> Its usually one or two of our medium to larger files that are clean, but still have lots of stuff.
> I could do a lot of troubleshooting like you say, but I was wondering if lots of others are seeing this happen also, and
> not saying anything.
>
> You do have to save 2004 version files to 2007 to get 2009 to work well, and I see a lot of people stumble on that.
> Once past though, its suprising to see etransmit choke.
> I still use it to collect images, but work around it for drawings.
>
> Its a shame as its a good feature I've always liked.
>
>
> cstruckmann <>
> |>i assume one of the xrefs doesn't behave as it should. try the run the etransmit command with slightly different settings. exclude certain xref's, or change some settings (main visual fidelity...). or when running etransmit and it states "processing xx of xx drawings", do you see at which drawings it chokes? look at that drawing very carefully (xref anno scales, xclip, purge and audit, large images)
> James Maeding
> Civil Engineer and Programmer
> jmaeding - at - hunsaker - dotcom
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.