CAD Managers

Reply
Active Member
pbyrnej
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 1 of 21 (181 Views)

Do I NEED subscription?

181 Views, 20 Replies
10-10-2007 09:25 PM
I'm trying to understand subscription and how it works. Is it REQUIRED to get basic patches/fixes to their own software? Or is it like Window's operating software where you buy the software and updates/patches are PART of the deal?

If I DON'T get the subscription, what will I exactly NOT be able to do or get?

I don't need all the other stuff that they offer, I just want to make sure that my software, which I'm going to pay $4,000 for, is going to get the fixes/updates that it NEEDS to correct bugs and software errors.
*Allen Jessup
Message 2 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 05:11 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
What software are you talking about? Some are "Subscription Only". Most
aren't. The basic answer would be; If you can go to the web site and
download a patch now - you could do it after you bought your software.

What subscription does is get you the next release at no extra charge. I've
never known autodesk to restrict patches.

Whether Subscription is right for you (on a non subscription only product)
depends on how often you want to upgrade to the next version and how you
want to budget the upgrades.

Allen

wrote in message news:5746436@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to understand subscription and how it works. Is it REQUIRED to
get basic patches/fixes to their own software? Or is it like Window's
operating software where you buy the software and updates/patches are PART
of the deal?

If I DON'T get the subscription, what will I exactly NOT be able to do or
get?

I don't need all the other stuff that they offer, I just want to make sure
that my software, which I'm going to pay $4,000 for, is going to get the
fixes/updates that it NEEDS to correct bugs and software errors.
*Alain Cote
Message 3 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 06:15 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
You do not need to be on subscription for software patches, ADT06 anyway.
There are a few perks for going subscription but you will need to read the
"fine print" to determine what they are for the product you are looking at.
We have a number of licenses, one of which is on subscription so we get the
new software for review.

ACote
wrote in message news:5746436@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to understand subscription and how it works. Is it REQUIRED to
get basic patches/fixes to their own software? Or is it like Window's
operating software where you buy the software and updates/patches are PART
of the deal?

If I DON'T get the subscription, what will I exactly NOT be able to do or
get?

I don't need all the other stuff that they offer, I just want to make sure
that my software, which I'm going to pay $4,000 for, is going to get the
fixes/updates that it NEEDS to correct bugs and software errors.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 06:18 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
AutoCAD patches are still free:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/linkedsumindex?siteID=123112&id=2334430&linkID=9240618

So are all other AutoCAD based versions.

Subscription gets you a discount on the next version, every year, and you
get Autodesk exclusive access to technical support and troubleshooting, all
cost extra if you are not on subscription. If you actually know how to use
AutoCAD, this is not needed, is you're a newb and/or think you need a lot of
guidance, it's worth it.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*Josh
Message 5 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 06:21 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
"What subscription does is get you the next release at no extra charge."

Oooo...I want one of your subscription deals since mine costs me
$1K/seat/year.

The subscription gets you the newest version as it's released and better
tech support options, among other things. Considering that Autodesk is
seemingly retiring versions that are 4 yrs old (requiring you to buy a full
seat to upgrade) it's practically a wash to be on subscription or "upgrade"
after 4 yrs.

Josh
*John Schmidt
Message 6 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 07:21 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
Unfortunately, the main reason to be on subscription is cost savings. Since
Autodesk has gone to this dubious yearly release cycle, is's simply cheaper
to stay on subscription. The upgrade may be $500 per release, (now yearly),
and subscription might be $400/year.

So you say, "I'm planning on skipping a few years between upgrading, so why
subscription?". Well, Autodesk also changed their upgrade pricing scenario,
so that now, even if you skip one or more cycles, they still charge you the
cumulative total. For example, $500 for next release, $1000, if you've
skipped one, $1500 if you've skipped two, etc, so subscription end up
costing you less. 'Terrible business, IMHO, but the Adesk bean counters love
it! Just check who's been cashing in at Autodesk, and how many millionaires
we're creating there: http://finance.yahoo.com/q/it?s=adsk

John

wrote in message news:5746436@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to understand subscription and how it works. Is it REQUIRED to
get basic patches/fixes to their own software? Or is it like Window's
operating software where you buy the software and updates/patches are PART
of the deal?

If I DON'T get the subscription, what will I exactly NOT be able to do or
get?

I don't need all the other stuff that they offer, I just want to make sure
that my software, which I'm going to pay $4,000 for, is going to get the
fixes/updates that it NEEDS to correct bugs and software errors.
Active Member
pbyrnej
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 7 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 07:31 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
Sorry I didn't state which software I was planning to buy. I'm going to by AutoCAD 2008.

So patches/fixes are still free even WITHOUT subscription?
*pkirill
Message 8 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 08:09 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
With AutoCAD 2008, you will not get e-learning and autodesk technical
support - meaning you can't submit trouble tickets to Autodesk and have
someone work with you to resolve the issue. You WILL have access to the
online knowledge base and all service packs, patches, bug fixes, etc.

As for it being cheaper in the long run - in my experience it certainly has
been cheaper to stay on subscription than to wait for "the good deal" from a
reseller before the software expires. But then it all depends on your
business. If your business requires coordination between other people or
companies that are or will be using the latest-greatest, then subscription
may make sense beyond just the hard cost of the subscription plan. If you're
on your own, so to speak, and you can use whatever as long as it comes out
in DWG format, then subscription may not mean as much.


wrote in message news:5746436@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to understand subscription and how it works. Is it REQUIRED to
get basic patches/fixes to their own software? Or is it like Window's
operating software where you buy the software and updates/patches are PART
of the deal?

If I DON'T get the subscription, what will I exactly NOT be able to do or
get?

I don't need all the other stuff that they offer, I just want to make sure
that my software, which I'm going to pay $4,000 for, is going to get the
fixes/updates that it NEEDS to correct bugs and software errors.
Distinguished Contributor
jpostlewait
Posts: 2,433
Registered: ‎10-05-2004
Message 9 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 08:36 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
One thing also to consider.
Some of the product short-comings aren't addressed until the next release. Patches and hot-fixes are seldom published for old versions.
*Leo the Builder
Message 10 of 21 (181 Views)

Re: Do I NEED subscription?

10-11-2007 10:18 AM in reply to: pbyrnej
You can always download all patches for free, even if you don't have or own
the software.
(dunno what you'd do wif da patch if ya didn't have the software)

Leo


wrote in message news:5746784@discussion.autodesk.com...
Sorry I didn't state which software I was planning to buy. I'm going to by
AutoCAD 2008.

So patches/fixes are still free even WITHOUT subscription?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.