Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2010 slow to get a network license

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
GaryAiken1964
4036 Views, 7 Replies

AutoCAD 2010 slow to get a network license

Has anybody had issues with slowness when getting a network license for 2010?
I've been using lmtools for over 10 years and the issue I'm having at the moment is a first.
I've taken the network infrastructure and profiles out of the equation. The nic is running at 1Gb.
I have some PC's that take about 90 seconds to obtain a license and say not responding until they do, I have others that take seconds but the standard is about 20 seconds for a full open which is acceptable. If I borrow a license it opens in seconds so I can only put it down to the process of speaking to the licenses manager.
I run a 3 server redundant server model.
The Pc's are running XP srv pk 3.
A side effect of this is if the user 'ctrl+alt+del' when it say not responding AutoCAD fails to open again unless I re-boot.
This is happening on at least 3 pc's and a reinstall of the software made no difference.
Any ideas gratefully received.

Gary
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
TravisNave
in reply to: GaryAiken1964

Strange indeed. I am not a big fan of the redundant license server setup for a number of reasons. From the clients, can you ping each of the license servers? Are you using the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE and FLEXLM_TIMEOUT system environment variables? Also have you verified that all three license servers are running and communicating with each other? As an additional network test, try turning your NIC down to 10/Half and see if the application launches any faster.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                                             Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

My Expert Contributions to the
Autodesk Forums: