CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 1 of 5 (1,822 Views)
Accepted Solution

3ds on Windows 7 requiring admin rights?

1822 Views, 4 Replies
09-30-2011 07:09 AM

We are moving to Windows 7 and have found that, although other Autodesk programs run fine without admin rights, 3ds appears to require it.  Does anyone know if this is the case and if so, if there is a way around it? 

 

Note that:

 

  • We are running 3ds using FlexLM.
  • We already tried setting the exe to "Run as Administrator"

Autodesk has pretty much always required Admin Rights, especially for its more advanced programs.  You can find multiple instanaces of it in the KB.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=10396334&linkID=9241177

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17024312&linkID=9241177

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=5582464&linkID=9241177

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=10396270&linkID=9241177

 

You can find even more instances by searching the forum.  In some instances you can get by with Power User rights, but local Administrator rights is generally recommended. 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,283
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (1,795 Views)

Re: 3ds on Windows 7 requiring admin rights?

10-12-2011 09:35 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

The way around it is simply to give your engineers local admin rights on their machines.  There really is no reason not to do this.  Local administrator rights does not grant any more privilege to the domain security.  It simply allows the engineer to do what they need to do on their local machine.  There have been many posts about this over the past years, but the consensus remains that local admin rights should be granted.  They have been, in fact, a requirement for many of the suites.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Distinguished Contributor
iDS!
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎07-28-2004
Message 3 of 5 (1,755 Views)

Re: 3ds on Windows 7 requiring admin rights?

10-28-2011 08:18 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

Please elaborate on your "Admin Rights" required statement.

 

I am being hit with this same issue by a large corporation that has taken over the company I work for...the local IT has no problem granting Local Admin...but Corp has other plans...Corp also has very few other users that run autodesk softwares...we on the other hand do!

 

I have 18+ yrs dealing with IT (mainly AutoCAD/ Inventor)...have always come to terms with IT and 9/10 times become the liaison for Engineering...

 

My understanding is that Autodesk softwares right to restricted parts of the Registry and Program Files amongst other places outside of confines of "User" privileges and therefore without Local Admin rights potential issues with daily operation is inevitable.

 

Most of my experience comes from XP...however now W7 has "better" policy and privileges that may be restricting more issues...but I noticed (and need to research more) the User Accounts has other designations like "Power User" etc... 

 

I suspect Autodesk should provide a clear understanding to this and suggest it in the install notes as to what User Account Settings are required...please!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,283
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 5 (1,743 Views)

Re: 3ds on Windows 7 requiring admin rights?

10-28-2011 01:34 PM in reply to: iDS!

Autodesk has pretty much always required Admin Rights, especially for its more advanced programs.  You can find multiple instanaces of it in the KB.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=10396334&linkID=9241177

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17024312&linkID=9241177

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=5582464&linkID=9241177

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=10396270&linkID=9241177

 

You can find even more instances by searching the forum.  In some instances you can get by with Power User rights, but local Administrator rights is generally recommended. 

 

 

 

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 5 of 5 (1,733 Views)

Re: 3ds on Windows 7 requiring admin rights?

10-29-2011 09:25 AM in reply to: iDS!

We had no problems with any Autodesk programs when using XP.  Under Windows 7, 3ds is the only product we've had issues with so far.  We're using AutoCAD 2011, Revit (all flavors), DWG Trueview, and Design Review.

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.