CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
597 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Post 1 of 14

32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

22936 Views, 13 Replies
12-14-2010 07:32 AM

We are moving to AutoCAD 2011 and simultaneously testing machines in the Win 7 64 bit environment.  On one of the 64 bit machines we've installed 2011 and would like to quickly migrate our 2008 settings for preliminary testing.  However, the 2008 32 bit install program says it can't install on a 64 bit machine.  Is there any way around that?

Mentor
249 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Post 2 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

12-14-2010 09:52 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

Are you installing from disk or from an automated setup? The disk contains both versions, 32 & 64. If your copy does not, contact your reseller to get a disk with both.

jg
Distinguished Contributor
597 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Post 3 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

12-14-2010 10:04 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

We were trying an outomated installation for our SMS server and thought perhaps IT does something to the files - like a wrapper - that prevents the installation.  Someone in another department borrowed out disc and didn't return it.  I've located one and hope to try installing with it tomorrow.  The disc says nothing about the bit bersion so I'm hoping that even in 2008 both the 32 and 64 installations were on the same disc.

Valued Contributor
92 Posts
10 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Post 4 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

12-14-2010 01:16 PM in reply to: paul.ashley

If I recall correctly 2008 didn't have an official x64 version. If you contact Autodesk they may send you a link to a 'use at your own risk' x64 version. I know they sent me one but I don't have the link and we have since moved on to where we are currently on 2010.

Distinguished Contributor
1,741 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-02-2003
Post 5 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

01-04-2011 01:34 PM in reply to: rmiller1973

Yeah, there's an "at your own risk" version available from Autodesk. We got it from our reseller I think...

There was no officially supported 64 bit version of ACA 2008 so the "at your own risk" version is the best option.

 

There are problems though. At least here...

We run it on Win7 64bit and the image hotfix as well as the Service Packs ruin the install. So...we run 2008 without service packs or hotfixes. This impacts stability particularly when inserting images into your cad file.


If you're just using it for migration purposes, you're probably fine.

Distinguished Contributor
597 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Post 6 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

01-04-2011 01:47 PM in reply to: paul.ashley

Thanks for the suggestion.  I was off the last two weeks and just this morning thought of asking my reseller if there was something available.  I'll wait to see what I hear and if he hasn't heard about it, I'll mention your post here.

Valued Mentor
647 Posts
10 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Post 7 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

01-04-2011 02:54 PM in reply to: paul.ashley

If vanilla acad is anything like the acad arch install, the MSI has been set to reject installation of 2008 on 64bit OS. The work around is to copy the contents of the DVD onto a machine and edit the MSI file. If you do a search under the autocad architecture forum you will find more detailed instructions. 2009 was the first true 64bit version released if my memory serves me right.

Distinguished Contributor
597 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Post 8 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

01-04-2011 05:43 PM in reply to: jmcintyre

I found a website that charted AutoCAD'a compatibility with 64 bit systems and it said that AutoCAD 2008 bit was supported on XP and Vista 64 bit systems but not Windows 7, which is what we're testing on.  Still, your MSI edit idea might work. 

 

Would I edit the MSI using 7-zip as noted in this article?  http://www.ehow.com/how_7290210_edit-msi-file.html

 

I'll seach the groups to see if I can find the thread you're speaking of.

 

Thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
110 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Post 9 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

01-14-2011 09:35 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

I found this - I haven't tried it yet - but others swear by it...

Here is the advertisement -

 

http://www.longbowsoftware.com/

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
597 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Post 10 of 14

Re: 32 bit AutoCAD 2008 on 64 bit computer ?

01-14-2011 10:30 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

Is it the case, however, that Autodesk never supported AutoCAD 2008 even on Vista?  Were there problems with it running on post-XP OSs?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.