Buzzsaw General Discussion

Buzzsaw General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
pmathews
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎11-02-2003
Message 1 of 2 (45 Views)

Items Marked as Read - Reset Automatically

45 Views, 1 Replies
10-05-2003 02:26 PM
On the 5th of October I went and downloaded all the new drawings from our partners Buzzsaw directory and then once this was complete I went once again to the what news icon and marked all the downloaded items as "Read".

When I logged in today to check the "what news" icon I find a huge list of every single file in the project marked as not read.

Is it possible for the site to forget that a user has already downloaded and marked an item as "read".

I have not changed my logon or logged on with another user name.

Could it have something to do with my proxy or me deleting my cookie cache (not that I have)

Or is it the side effect of something done by the Site admin.

Thanks in advance.
*Sheppard, Scott
Message 2 of 2 (45 Views)

Items Marked as Read - Reset Automatically

10-06-2003 06:18 AM in reply to: pmathews
When you log onto a Buzzsaw site, a list of items
on the site gets downloaded to the client. Each of the items on the list is
identified as read or not read. There was a time when the development team
considered keeping the list of read/unread items on the user's machine. This
would have worked, but if a user read something one machine, and then logged in
on another machine, all of his previously read items would appear as unread.
This is the way newsgroups work. Rather than do that, the Buzzsaw team decided
to go for extra credit and keep the list of read and unread items on the server
itself. The file is stored on the server - one per user. This keeps track of
read/unread items regardless of which machine a user logs in on.

 

I believe the information is stored on a per
Buzzsaw site member basis. It is a small file and it is unlikely that it would
get corrupted when being transmitted from the client to the server. Since the
information is stored or a per site member basis, I doubt it has anything to do
with the proxy. Clearing you cache would not effect it if the file had already
made it back to the server. I am curious as to what Technical Support has to
say. This may be a one time anomaly.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
On
the 5th of October I went and downloaded all the new drawings from our
partners Buzzsaw directory and then once this was complete I went once again
to the what news icon and marked all the downloaded items as "Read".

When I logged in today to check the "what news" icon I find a huge list of
every single file in the project marked as not read.

Is it possible for the site to forget that a user has already downloaded
and marked an item as "read".

I have not changed my logon or logged on with another user name.

Could it have something to do with my proxy or me deleting my cookie cache
(not that I have)

Or is it the side effect of something done by the Site admin.

Thanks in advance.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New Buzzsaw Category!

The Buzzsaw forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.