AutoSketch

Reply
Active Member
Xfieldok
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
Message 1 of 5 (1,763 Views)
Accepted Solution

Spline and Fitted Curves pen width

1763 Views, 4 Replies
01-21-2011 06:54 AM

I have been happily using spline  and fitted curves with no problems.  Suddenly, they are not responding to a change of line width, can anyone explain what I am doing wrong?   

Thank you for the upload.

 

You might not be aware that your 'curve' is actually a multi-segment polyline, and not a spline or fitted line? It only looks curved because it's made up of 30+ straight lines (double left-click it and see for yourself).

 

Delete it and draw it again with the right tool if need be... however that still leaves the puzzle of why entering in a new line thickness doesn't actually change the polyline thickness.

 

Are you aware your drawing is set to a precision of "1. mm". If you want a line 0.05mm thick you need to go into:

 

TOOLS > DRAWING OPTIONS > UNITS > LENGTH > DECIMAL PRECISION > change from 1. to 0.01

 

 

Cheers

Mentor
StevenMac
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,760 Views)

Re: Spline and Fitted Curves pen width

01-21-2011 01:13 PM in reply to: Xfieldok

Can you attach the drawing so we can have a look? You may have to rename the file extension to .doc or .bak for the forum to accept it.

Active Member
Xfieldok
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
Message 3 of 5 (1,749 Views)

Re: Spline and Fitted Curves pen width

01-21-2011 11:28 PM in reply to: StevenMac

Thank you Stevenmac.  Attached is spline.doc which was renamed from spline.7z.

 

The item is in green.  Have tried every which way to change the width to no avail.  I cut and pasted this into another document and it appeared to work, but not in this one.  Any advice gratefully received.

Mentor
StevenMac
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 4 of 5 (1,745 Views)

Re: Spline and Fitted Curves pen width

01-22-2011 02:20 AM in reply to: Xfieldok

Thank you for the upload.

 

You might not be aware that your 'curve' is actually a multi-segment polyline, and not a spline or fitted line? It only looks curved because it's made up of 30+ straight lines (double left-click it and see for yourself).

 

Delete it and draw it again with the right tool if need be... however that still leaves the puzzle of why entering in a new line thickness doesn't actually change the polyline thickness.

 

Are you aware your drawing is set to a precision of "1. mm". If you want a line 0.05mm thick you need to go into:

 

TOOLS > DRAWING OPTIONS > UNITS > LENGTH > DECIMAL PRECISION > change from 1. to 0.01

 

 

Cheers

Active Member
Xfieldok
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
Message 5 of 5 (1,723 Views)

Re: Spline and Fitted Curves pen width

01-24-2011 07:18 AM in reply to: StevenMac

Thank you StevenMac.  It was not quite the solution, I am still not sure what is, but you sent me on the right track and I got round it.

 

Looking forward to Paul releasing his book.......

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!