AutoSketch

Reply
Valued Contributor
mitch
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎06-30-2002
Message 1 of 7 (73 Views)

I would like to see in version..........

73 Views, 6 Replies
06-24-2002 07:05 AM
I would like to see in version 9. I use the offset tool quite a lot and would love to see in addition to the distance window, an additional window appear where you can also type in a quanity for multiple offsets. That would be very cool! Any one else have any useful wishes?
Regards, Tom Mitchell
*Jackson, Paul
Message 2 of 7 (73 Views)

Re: I would like to see in version..........

06-24-2002 09:45 AM in reply to: mitch
IF you want multiple offsets use the transform tool
using R (relative distance) and tick the copy box to the left of the edit
bar.

 

Once offset, highlight the entity that has been
offset and give the
  • key a tap. Repeat Repeat Repeat Repeat.

  •  

    Paul Paul Paul Paul


    style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
    I
    would like to see in version 9. I use the offset tool quite a lot and would
    love to see in addition to the distance window, an additional window appear
    where you can also type in a quanity for multiple offsets. That would be very
    cool! Any one else have any useful wishes?
    Regards, Tom
    Mitchell
    *Graeme
    Message 3 of 7 (73 Views)

    Re: I would like to see in version..........

    06-24-2002 10:05 AM in reply to: mitch
    My Wish Items

     

    Generic CADD had a MATCH command which allowed you
    to match properties of an entity before
    adding it to the drawing rather than
    the format painter that does it individually after.

     

    A MATCH command would be particularly useful for
    detail view dimensioning. It would allow me to setup
    standard drawings( as I
    had with GCADD) with dims, leaders, text etc.. and MATCH the appropriate
    one rather than
    going through the extended process of changing terminator,
    min length, break length, text size
    etc. etc.. each time. It would be a
    way of setting up standard styles.

     

     

    Secondly, One command for MOVE & a separate
    command to COPY. After 5 years of Drafix / Autosketch
    I still forget to check
    (or uncheck ?) the check box.

     

    I am still using Version 6.01

     

    regs

    Graeme


    style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
    I
    would like to see in version 9. I use the offset tool quite a lot and would
    love to see in addition to the distance window, an additional window appear
    where you can also type in a quanity for multiple offsets. That would be very
    cool! Any one else have any useful wishes?
    Regards, Tom
    Mitchell
    Valued Contributor
    mitch
    Posts: 81
    Registered: ‎06-30-2002
    Message 4 of 7 (73 Views)

    Re:

    06-24-2002 12:35 PM in reply to: mitch
    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for the input but that will not work with lines that are other than horizontal or vertical. That is why I want a multiple offset window. I have been discussing this since Drafix 3 with the programmers. The guys at AutoDesk are afraid of bulking up to much and giving LT a run for the money. Last I knew it was around $700.00. Also in order to add more features to AutoSketch the code will have to be rewritten, I.E. a considerable price jump on AutoSketch. Therein lies the dilemma! Any way thanks for the help!!! BTW what is your desire for the program? What kind of improvements would you like to see? Other than the obvious repairs that have been beaten to death in this news group? ***************************************** Regards< Tom Mitchell Tom Mitchell Tom Mitchell Tom Mitchell
    *Jackson, Paul
    Message 5 of 7 (73 Views)

    Re:

    06-30-2002 08:20 AM in reply to: mitch
    Hello

     

    The repeat command will work with anything,
    regardless of horizontal or vertical

     

    Paul


    style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">

    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for the input but that will not work with lines that
    are other than horizontal or vertical.

     

    Mitchell
    Valued Contributor
    mitch
    Posts: 81
    Registered: ‎06-30-2002
    Message 6 of 7 (73 Views)

    Re:

    06-30-2002 11:48 AM in reply to: mitch
    Hi Paul,
    I guess I must have misunderstood what you mean. If I draw a line that is 32.6 degrees from level and click on the offset tool / type in a dimension say 5.5 inches and click on the line it is drawn exactly parrelel to the first line. If I were to connect the ends of the two lines it would create a rectangle, right? When I tried to do as you said in your first post I saw a dialog box come up looking for x and y corodinates. What did I do wrong? Thanks for your help......
    Regards, Tom Mitchell
    *Jackson, Paul
    Message 7 of 7 (73 Views)

    Re:

    07-23-2002 09:16 AM in reply to: mitch
    Hello

     

    That is the relative box for relative coordinates
    from an existing position. there is XY and Polar to choose from.  It is
    selected with the snap character R.

     

    Paul


    style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
    Hi
    Paul,
    I guess I must have misunderstood what you mean. If I draw a line
    that is 32.6 degrees from level and click on the offset tool / type in a
    dimension say 5.5 inches and click on the line it is drawn exactly parrelel to
    the first line. If I were to connect the ends of the two lines it would create
    a rectangle, right? When I tried to do as you said in your first post I saw a
    dialog box come up looking for x and y corodinates. What did I do wrong?
    Thanks for your help......
    Regards, Tom Mitchell
    Announcements
    Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
    Need installation help?

    Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.