Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Experienced AutoCAD user - AutoSketch Q's

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
lifeofaboat
1490 Views, 7 Replies

Experienced AutoCAD user - AutoSketch Q's

I have been using various versions of AutoCAD since 2000. It has become second nature at this point.

That being said, I am interested in the low cost of AutoSketch, but wary due to lack of a trial version, or even screenshots. I would appreciate input on the following questions:

~ Does AutoSketch support Blocks, or something similar? I'm concerned mostly with the ease of editing a drawing title info, rev block, etc., but it would also be nice for consistently drawing a labeling terminal blocks, electrical devices, etc.
~ Does AutoSketch print line weights (and/or export to PDF)?
~ Are layers vaguely similar in AutoSketch as they are in AutoCAD? Really all I need to know is that you can "freeze" and lock layers, and that changing a layer's property such as color carries that through to all objects on that layer that are in the drawing.

Thanks!
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Fred9002
in reply to: lifeofaboat

I noticed that nobody answered. A respondent would probably need to know both products because you you defined some of your AS questions by Autocad terminology. I don't know Autocad.

Here's a partial answer.

Starting about AS 9, AS does a good job with line widths. You can define widths that are infinitely thin, a certain actual width (.e.g. .02") or a width in pixels (of the display or printing device). And it does print them. AS 9 does ot have a pdf maker, but you can add one of those in minites with free download pdf makers which then show up as a printer in all applications including AS.

You can lock layers. Don't know about changing existig objects in a layer via changing its properties, but you can easily display and select all objects in a layer and globally make applicable changes.

Hope that helps a little
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous