Did you mean: 

DWG and DXF files open and setting the scale in AutoSketch 10

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
2008 Views, 4 Replies

DWG and DXF files open and setting the scale in AutoSketch 10

Hi,

I have been sent some DWG and DXF files which open ok in AutoSketch 10, when I first open them I get a message about which measurement type to use for the linear scale factor.  I have tried a few options on this but when I go to check a measurement on the drawing it either appears to large or to small for the item I am measuring.  The drawings should all be in mm or m but trying these scale factors does not seem to work.

I have some CAD experience but am still a beginner, please can you help so I can accuratley import and set drawing up in AutoSketch.

Many thanks in advance,

Ant

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
StevenMac
in reply to: Anonymous

Ant can you post one up. You'll have to rename the file to something else so the forum allows it (.doc worked for another user)

Message 3 of 5
StevenMac

My understanding of scaling in AS is dubious, but I can at least tell you what I do know...

The pdf shows it to be A3 - 297mm x 420mm - 11.69" x 16.54" (landscape).

Autosketch has a serious bug, or some arsed-about way of treating paper (or I'm clueless as to how it actually works) but basically you need to set your printer to be in the same format as your drawing BEFORE you open an old document in sketch.

For example: If I open this A3 drawing right now on this computer, autosketch will shrink it to fit the default printer setting - A4 portrait - http://i54.tinypic.com/211uqva.jpg

To get around this I set my default printer (ADOBE PDF maker) to A3 landscape and now the drawing will open to the correct size and orientation - http://i56.tinypic.com/21nozg4.jpg

Using the dimension tool, the building is 19'13" (~6.12m) wide.

The drawing specifies a scale of 100:1