AutoSketch

Reply
New Member
larry.shaw
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
Message 1 of 6 (4,633 Views)

AutoSketch using Mac or iPad

4633 Views, 5 Replies
01-28-2010 07:51 AM
My company is interest in using AutoSketch in one of our shops to sketch parts and then bring into AutoCad. I have contemplated utilizing a netbook with AutoSketch to in the shop or field but now with the iPad coming out I think this maybe the way to go. Does anyone know if AutoSketch could be load on a Mac book and then loaded onto an iPad?
*Harvey
Message 2 of 6 (4,633 Views)

Re: AutoSketch using Mac or iPad

01-28-2010 09:50 AM in reply to: larry.shaw
ADSK products don't run on Apple's software. A netbook using PC OS's
will work though. Of course, Apple's OSX dual-boot might do it. Just a
guess.

The iPad won't be available commercially until April, as I read.
According to Pogue, it's a ginned up iPhone/iTouch. It would be nice if
it also is dual boot, but there's no talk of that now. That would seem
to be ideal for what you want though. Pie in the sky.

_h

larry.shaw@millerpipeline.com wrote:
> My company is interest in using AutoSketch in one of our shops to sketch parts and then bring into AutoCad. I have contemplated utilizing a netbook with AutoSketch to in the shop or field but now with the iPad coming out I think this maybe the way to go. Does anyone know if AutoSketch could be load on a Mac book and then loaded onto an iPad?
*Nick Van Laar
Message 3 of 6 (4,633 Views)

Re: AutoSketch using Mac or iPad

01-28-2010 12:41 PM in reply to: larry.shaw
No dual-boot or even multi-tasking for the ipad (you
would think they could've come up with a better name).  As Harvey suggests,
think over-grown Touch.  BTW-the name Autosketch is a slight
misnomer.  You might be interested in
title="http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=13872203 CTRL + Click to follo...

(which is for the touch/iphone).  It will more
than likely make it to the ipad since it is running a variant of the
touch/iphone OSx (I think some of the iphone apps will already work on
it).  Sorry, no full OSx apps allowed.

Member
cochranedave
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 4 of 6 (4,633 Views)

Re: AutoSketch using Mac or iPad

01-29-2010 05:27 AM in reply to: larry.shaw
That's incorrect. Alias Studio is available for the Mac, and so is Maya. I'd love to see Sketchbook Mobile on the iPad, but only once it's been adjust to make full use of the capabilities of the machine. There's so much possibility there. Imagine running up some knockout product concept images for a client on the device right in front of them, then emailing them directly, then and there. The uses haven't even really been thought about yet. I'm going with a quad core iMac for my Autodesk and Solidworks stuff, which all runs perfect on BootCamp with Windows 7 64 Bit, and the iPad for my mobile and research workflows. Edited by: cochranedave on Jan 29, 2010 1:45 PM
*Nick Van Laar
Message 5 of 6 (4,633 Views)

Re: AutoSketch using Mac or iPad

01-29-2010 09:23 AM in reply to: larry.shaw
What's incorrect? I never even mentioned Studio or Sketchbook Pro (they
won't work on an iPad), Autosketch most certainly will not run on an iPad
(at all) or mac (natively). Full capabilities of what machine? iPad is an
overgrown touch/iphone with almost exactly the same abilities (and
limitations).
http://content.zdnet.com/2346-9595_22-388040.html?tag=content;col1
http://blogs.zdnet.com/BTL/?p=30163&tag=wrapper;col1
Member
cochranedave
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 6 of 6 (4,633 Views)

Re: AutoSketch using Mac or iPad

01-29-2010 04:16 PM in reply to: larry.shaw
Harvey, you wrote "ADSK products don't run on Apple's software". I just pointed out that some do, including Sketchbook Pro which is downloadable as a universal binary for OS X. You'll see that if you look at the Sketchbook Pro FAQ document.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.