AutoSketch

Reply
New Member
tomnjo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-07-2010
Message 1 of 10 (5,359 Views)

Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

5359 Views, 9 Replies
02-07-2010 10:13 AM
Does anyone have a solution to make this program work on windows 7
*Nick Van Laar
Message 2 of 10 (5,359 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

02-07-2010 10:19 PM in reply to: tomnjo
XP Mode or VMware

"tomnjo" wrote in message news:6331913@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Does anyone have a solution to make this program work on windows 7
New Member
plucinski349
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 3 of 10 (4,921 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

04-07-2011 03:10 AM in reply to: tomnjo

Can I install Autosketch 2.1 to Windows 7 64bit ?

New Member
malcolma
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
Message 4 of 10 (4,872 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

04-17-2011 04:07 PM in reply to: plucinski349

Can I install Autosketch 2.1 to Windows 7 64bit ?

 

malcolma

New Member
davemuir01
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-02-2011
Message 5 of 10 (4,796 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

05-02-2011 06:35 AM in reply to: tomnjo

did you receive any answers/fixes? I have the same problem

New Member
lthomp
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Message 6 of 10 (4,237 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

11-09-2011 07:52 AM in reply to: tomnjo

I have a nice new windows 7 PC Home edition. Seems the only recourse to run Asketch on this is to upgrade to a higher windows 7 OS and then use the XP plugin downloadable from MIcrosoft which provides backward compatibility.

New Member
r2012
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-16-2012
Message 7 of 10 (3,806 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

04-16-2012 10:32 AM in reply to: tomnjo

Have done all that Window 7 Professional, install XP.. And I can not install autosketch 2.1 any help please.

New Member
StanMayer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2009
Message 8 of 10 (3,750 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

05-01-2012 07:03 PM in reply to: tomnjo

                                                                                                                                                                  May 1, 2012

            Regarding a way to run Autosketch 2.1 on a PC with Windows 7 … I have found at least one way that works and have theorized about another.    Knowing that Windows XP (32bit) will run Autosketch I theorized that there were two possible ways of running Autosketch on my modern PC with Winders 7 namely:  (1)  Setup the PC to be a “dual boot” PC able to either boot to Winders 7 or Win XP (32bit) which I know from experience has no problems running Autosketch        and        (2) Installing a “Virtual Machine” program in Winders 7 that would emulate a second PC with an operating system compatible with sketch, in other words, the program would create a virtual PC that could have an operating system like Windows 98 (a great operating system) or Windows XP. 

            My computer guru told me about this concept so I tried it starting with VMware’s Virtual Machine evaluation version and it worked beeeuteifullly!!!   Trouble is VMware wants about $200 for their program so I decided to try Microsoft’s (aka Microshaft’s) Virtual Machine add-on for Winders 7 (32 or 64 bit) which was free, which is a good price, don’t you know.  The result was Autosketch 2.1 worked decently (albeit with a somewhat small screen) with Win XP on the Virtual PC!!!!

            With my PC there is one somewhat major limitation with my Win XP Virtual PC within winders 7 which is that I can’t easily transport any output file from any program in the virtual PC to Winders 7 or for that matter any other IBM compatible PC except to put them on the internet for pickup.  You see Mikrosoft’s virtual PC has no USB connection, no LAN connection (Ethernet that is), it will not allow copy and pastes to the Win 7 PC, the virtual hard drive for the virtual PC is not accessible to the Win 7 PC and my one and only “floppy” drive … a R/W CD/DVD drive isn’t working well with the virtual PC.  I hope to figure out how to get the CD/DVD drive working properly soon  or better yet get USB working with the Virtual PC. 

            As for the dual boot thing, lots of “experts” on the web say this can be done but my guru says that this concept can be a headache especially if a 64bit operating system combined with a 32bit operating system is involved.

                                                                                                                            Hope this gives you some ideas

                                                                                                                                                         Stan-Mayer

 

P.S..  There is one caveat with the dual PC system and that is the operating system for the virtual PC (the guest system) must be capable of being legally licensed to the physical PC.  We certainly wouldn’t want to cheat the highly ethical Microsoft company, who’s struggling to keep from going broke, out of another $100, would we!  ;-)

 

P.S.S.  I absolutely love Autosketch 2.1, a program that ranks well with AutoCad for the casual user having the capablility of drawing electrical/electronic schematics, mechanical drawings in isometric or orthographic modes, lanscaping plans, home construction, etc., etc., etc.  And the "interface" is consistent from feature to feature and the program only very rarely locks up

New Member
RMW1960
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
Message 9 of 10 (3,007 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

11-13-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: tomnjo

Like so many out there, I am proficient with 2.1 and don't have the time to learn the newer versions.  I have AutoSketch 6.0 and it is too complicated and time consuming to learn.  Sorry, 2.1 spoiled me.  My old XP desktop died and I'm also stuck in th Windows 7 issue with my new system.  I have an old XP laptop and was tryng to load the 2.1 discs, but ran into a probem with #3.  It gives me this message:  ~TMP0D05.EXE has encountered a problem and needs to close.  Anyone have any idea what that means?  Also, anyone out there willing to loan me their discs so I can load them on my laptop?  I've got a lot of drawings that need to be saved!!!  HELP!!

New Member
BlueEagle1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 10 of 10 (551 Views)

Re: Autosketch 2.1 and windows 7

06-22-2014 09:09 AM in reply to: *Nick Van Laar
I am using Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, and I am using AutoSketch 2.1. Load it on the computer, and select the file SKETCH.EXE and right click on it. In the popup select 'Properties' Under Properties select 'Compatibility' Select 'Run this program in compatibility mode for:' Since 2.1 is an older version, I chose 'Windows 2000' I haven't had an problems.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.