AutoSketch

Reply
Active Contributor
keguhl
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-23-2002
Message 1 of 8 (357 Views)

AutoCAD to Autosketch

357 Views, 7 Replies
08-21-2007 03:52 PM
Does anyone with AutoCAD experience have any tips on switching over to Autosketch? I bought AS so I could work at home on a kitchen renovation project and I am just stumped! I am struggling with what should be simple exercises. I can't get past the lack of a command line and I need some helpful advice - like forget everything you know about AutoCAD? Quite embarrassing, but I know this forum is the place to start. Otherwise, I will just stay late at the office to work on my renovation drawings in AutoCAD - thanks in advance.
*Harvey
Message 2 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-21-2007 06:12 PM in reply to: keguhl
keguhl wrote:
> Does anyone with AutoCAD experience have any tips on switching over to Autosketch? I bought AS so I could work at home on a kitchen renovation project and I am just stumped! I am struggling with what should be simple exercises. I can't get past the lack of a command line and I need some helpful advice - like forget everything you know about AutoCAD? Quite embarrassing, but I know this forum is the place to start. Otherwise, I will just stay late at the office to work on my renovation drawings in AutoCAD - thanks in advance.

Nope, no command line, just "tools." Choose a tool
to do what you want, and Edit bar pops up and you
can change orientation there.

There's a little book you should have, called
"Hands On A House" which you can get from Paul
Jackson, if he's still extant. I believe you can
order it from http://www.resolv.com.au/

I don't know if it will apply totally to V9 but it
will get you off the mark.

H
Active Contributor rsn
Active Contributor
rsn
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-31-2006
Message 3 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-21-2007 08:20 PM in reply to: keguhl
"Does anyone with AutoCAD experience have any tips on switching over to Autosketch?"

In one word....DON'T. AutoSketch is painful for anyone with AutoCAD skills.

No need to stay late at the office...your EULA allows you to install/run AutoCAD on 2 machines (eg. work & home) providing they are not being used at the same time.

Don't feel embarrassed...it's not you....it's the software.

Ric Norris.
Active Contributor
keguhl
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-23-2002
Message 4 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-22-2007 05:00 AM in reply to: keguhl
Thanks for the reply - I asked the T.O. department about getting AutoCAD installed on my home computer and I got a big run around. I thought learning AutoSketch would be easier than dealing with T.O. - but I may have to rethink that. Thanks.
*Ric Norris
Message 5 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-22-2007 05:13 AM in reply to: keguhl
Have a look at progeCAD...it's a free downloadable ACAD/LT clone from
IntelliCAD...

http://www.progecad.com/

Ric Norris.

wrote in message news:5697224@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for the reply - I asked the T.O. department about getting AutoCAD
installed on my home computer and I got a big run around. I thought learning
AutoSketch would be easier than dealing with T.O. - but I may have to
rethink that. Thanks.
Active Contributor
keguhl
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-23-2002
Message 6 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-22-2007 05:24 AM in reply to: keguhl
I appreciate you taking the time to respond. Too bad I didn't look into all these options before I bought AutoSketch. I just thought going from one Autodesk product to another would be a breeze - foolish me. I will try this download once I get back to my home computer - thanks, again!
*Ric Norris
Message 7 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-22-2007 05:44 AM in reply to: keguhl
"I just thought going from one Autodesk product to another would be a
breeze - foolish me."

It works both ways...try telling that to an AutoCAD user when shoving Revit
in their face...!!!

Ric Norris.


wrote in message news:5697268@discussion.autodesk.com...
I appreciate you taking the time to respond. Too bad I didn't look into all
these options before I bought AutoSketch. I just thought going from one
Autodesk product to another would be a breeze - foolish me. I will try this
download once I get back to my home computer - thanks, again!
*Rob Davis
Message 8 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD to Autosketch

08-22-2007 06:27 AM in reply to: keguhl
Ric Norris wrote:
> Have a look at progeCAD...it's a free downloadable ACAD/LT clone from
> IntelliCAD...
>
> http://www.progecad.com/
>
> Ric Norris.
>
> wrote in message news:5697224@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Thanks for the reply - I asked the T.O. department about getting AutoCAD
> installed on my home computer and I got a big run around. I thought learning
> AutoSketch would be easier than dealing with T.O. - but I may have to
> rethink that. Thanks.
Unfortunately ProgeCD is no longer a free download - I run the the free
2006 version when I rarely need it. The link Ric has provided will lead
you to "progeCAD Smart! is coming" as it has been for the past 6 months.
There are other free downloadable 2D CAD programs available including
one from Solid Edge - one of the big 3D CAD suppliers.

I find AS to be a very good 2D program and in my opinion is far easier
learn, far more intuitive and less cluttered than ACLT. I have had few
problems with AS (including compatability when combined with the free
AutoDesk reader and version converter) and use it for all my 2D work
which now is about 5% of my work.

You should consider moving on to 3D - go to www.alibre.com and download
the free Alibre Xpress version of a truely great program. The paid for
versions range from US$1,000 to $2,000 - less than ACLT! I crossed over
to 3D 18 months ago with Alibre Expert and haven't looked back (except
for visiting the AC newsgroup from time to time). Ric mentions that the
"ACLT EULA allows you to install/run AutoCAD on 2 machines (eg. work &
home)" - the paid for Alibre licence comes with 5 licence keys - 1 for
your work PC, one for home, one for your Laptop, one for your mate and
one for the little boy who lives down the lane!

The 2D world is shrinking pretty fast now. I work for a large
multinational and we have decided not to uprgade from ACLT 2002 -
AutoDesk ask for too much money and some "improvements" are regressive -
there is no payback for the investment. We are now movinging onto to 3D
with 2 paid for Alibre licences in our office.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.