AutoSketch

Reply
Contributor
Scott_P
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,426 Views)
Accepted Solution

AS10 intersection snap?

1426 Views, 6 Replies
11-11-2010 08:30 PM

What the heck am I doing wrong?  Used AS6 since 98.  Seems that the intersection snap isn't working?  I tried both the keyboard 'I' and also the intersection snap button (which I never used before, too slow for me). In V6 I would select a line or polyline to draw, press the 'I' key to get the intersection snap cursor, select a line along the X axis which would then bring up a grid line along the X axis.  I would then select a line along the Y axis where I wanted the intersection which would show the red alignment cursor, click on it and happily draw my line.  In V10 I hit the 'I' key which brings up the "IU" cursor, but when I try to select a line I get the error bell.  What gives?  All of the other snaps seem to work, but not intersection.  Frustrating that I cannot do something so simple, must be something I'm doing wrong?  I checked the Autodesk Knowledge Base and found nothing for V10?  Thought maybe there was a patch to download but, nope, nothing for V10 there either.  Sounds like Ric Norris was right - maybe AS10 is the death of Autosketch.  Could someone please help?  In the meantime, I'm going to finish my drawing in AS6 which still resides on my trusty little Acer netbook.  BTW, AS10 is loaded on a 64-bit Win7 machine.  Thanks.

 

Scott

Hi Scott Are you looking for 2 pt intersection instead of intersection snap? Try using the 2 key instead of i key the i only turns on a snap to existing lines that intersect Regards Jason

Did you try the '2 key' intersection method? Unless I misunderstand you, it does what you want

Active Member
Dave_K4
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
Message 2 of 7 (1,409 Views)

Re: AS10 intersection snap?

11-12-2010 08:13 AM in reply to: Scott_P

I just drew two single lines, creating an X on the screen. Selected 'Line Single', pressed "I" for intersection snap. Moved the cursor towards the intersection of the two lines. The cursor did snap to the intersection with a Red X. I clicked to start a line, moved to another location and clicked to end the line. That is what I expected.

 

Chose the 'sketch polyline'tool  and no snaps were available. Other PolyLine tools did have snaps available.

Distinguished Contributor
000jdi
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎10-22-2005
Message 3 of 7 (1,407 Views)

Re: AS10 intersection snap?

11-12-2010 08:35 AM in reply to: Scott_P
Hi Scott Are you looking for 2 pt intersection instead of intersection snap? Try using the 2 key instead of i key the i only turns on a snap to existing lines that intersect Regards Jason
Regards
Jason
Contributor
Scott_P
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 4 of 7 (1,401 Views)

Re: AS10 intersection snap?

11-12-2010 11:10 AM in reply to: Scott_P

Thanks for the input, but I should clarify: I'm trying to snap to a projected intersection along an  X and Y axis, not an actual X-Y intersection.

Mentor
StevenMac
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 5 of 7 (1,395 Views)

Re: AS10 intersection snap?

11-12-2010 06:59 PM in reply to: Scott_P

Did you try the '2 key' intersection method? Unless I misunderstand you, it does what you want

Contributor
Scott_P
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,362 Views)

Re: AS10 intersection snap?

11-15-2010 05:56 PM in reply to: Scott_P

Hi Steve,

 

Sorry for the late response; I was gleefully away from computers this weekend.   What is this "two key method" that you speak of?

 

Scott

Contributor
Scott_P
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 7 of 7 (1,357 Views)

Re: AS10 intersection snap?

11-15-2010 06:13 PM in reply to: Scott_P

Uh, yeah, ok.  The "two key method" would be using the 2 key for the snap.  Duh.  Get it.  Thanks Jason and Steve, yep, it works like I want it to.  But just so everyone doesn't think I'm nutty, the I key did snap along a projected intersection in AS6.  It did, really it did. :smileyhappy:

 

Ok, now I can go back to work with AS10 on my big monitor.  But I still don't like the cursors, wish they looked like they did in 6.  Maybe I'll get used to them in ten years or so.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!