AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
jneal
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 1 of 11 (924 Views)

Weld Symbol Overkill

924 Views, 10 Replies
03-12-2013 08:32 PM

Hi guys-

Why do I have so many weld symbols showing? I welded the stiffener plate in with a 3/16 fillet and chose (ALL) on the command line. This is what shows up. This is kind of ridiculous. Also how do you get it to not display the length by default? I cannot find the setting for that-

 

See attached


Thanks

Jess

 

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Valued Contributor
jneal
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 2 of 11 (896 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-13-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: jneal

Here's another example.... Serioulsy? This is borderline ridiculous...

 

 

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Valued Contributor
HulelaG
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 3 of 11 (835 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-18-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: jneal

There's nothing wrong with the drawing, 

this is the Power of ASD, it shows you what it can do. 

the Dimensioning of the drawing is on Default and is bringing everything even what you dont need, Preferences and select what you need.

Set you template to display what you need than what you dont need.

Valued Contributor
jneal
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 4 of 11 (818 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-18-2013 12:54 PM in reply to: HulelaG

Huela-

Thanks for the reply - however there is no way to adjust how the weld symbols are displayed or how many show up as far as I can tell. I have gone through the description styles several times trying to find how to shut off the length by default, add an ALL AROUND symbol by default and how many weld symbols are displayed. There is NO CONTROL over these features. I hope I am missing something but I don;t think I am. Autodesk needs to introduce more control over weld symbols...

 

Jess

 

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Valued Contributor
HulelaG
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 5 of 11 (799 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-18-2013 10:37 PM in reply to: jneal

My Best advice to this is, try avoid using Automated weld symbols, dont show them unless there's a special weld to show, then you can add a manual Weld. which have more options than using Automated.

I hope you can see better on the attaced image?Untitled.png

 

Valued Contributor
HulelaG
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 6 of 11 (798 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-18-2013 10:38 PM in reply to: HulelaG

There's a control if you know how,

Valued Contributor
jneal
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 7 of 11 (778 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-19-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: HulelaG

I apologize for the confusion....   I meant there is no control over AUTOMATED weld symbols. I know how to insert weld symbols manually. If there is no control over automated weld symbols then that feature is sort of pointless. 

 

Thanks for your help anyway-

Jess

 

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 8 of 11 (758 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-20-2013 04:27 AM in reply to: jneal

Weld symbols are turned off on every template on my system. It would be a nice fix from Autodesk to take care of that.

 

If you want to see the extreme joke, take a couple pcs. of pipe. Cope one to fit the other and give it a shop fillet weld all around. 

 

The auto weld symbol gives it about a hundred thosand weld symbols. 

 

I found it easier to revert back to my old weld symbol block library and try to use typ. weld section views.

 

pipe2.JPGpipe3.JPGpipe1.JPG

Valued Contributor
HulelaG
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 9 of 11 (753 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-20-2013 04:34 AM in reply to: markhubrich

Markhubrich,

 

I suggest you turn them off.

as you say, it would be nice if system display 1 weld symbol.

reason I suggested using manual weld symbol was all that as on you pasted pic.

 

 

Wish List maybe?

 

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 10 of 11 (747 Views)

Re: Weld Symbol Overkill

03-20-2013 05:16 AM in reply to: HulelaG

More like Broken I'd say. If the system doesn't perform as expected, it's broke.

 

Unless they intended it to be this way. I just don't see a feature of the software that doesn't function properly as an additional feature to have it working. 

 

I see it as a Bug that needs to be fixed. I'm surprised it went this far without attention. I'd be pretty embarrased if it were my software design. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.