AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

Reply
Active Member
Rick
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Message 1 of 6 (1,546 Views)

Structural Detailing to Revit

1546 Views, 5 Replies
06-28-2012 12:35 PM

How do I link my Structural Detailing AutoCAD to Revit and link them so as the cad file changes it up dates in Revit?

 

What I would really like to do is export Revit to AutoCAD Structural detailing. Then detail the connections and reload back into Revit.

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 2 of 6 (1,515 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-03-2012 12:44 AM in reply to: Rick

First of all, Revit doesn't import ASD detaills. 

Second: The only workflow that really worked for me was:

 

Create structure in Revit -> Analyze it in Robot -> Update Revit ->Send to ASD -> Plot.

 

Revit has 2 types of connections in "Extensions":"Beam to column" and "Column end", while ASD has more then 30.

 

Regards.

Valued Contributor
jorgeluisgdeaca
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 3 of 6 (1,504 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-03-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

Cristian, you have worked with SDS/2 connections?

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,495 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-04-2012 01:25 AM in reply to: jorgeluisgdeaca

Hi Jorge,

 

I had an attempt, bu it didn't work in the first place. After that the trial has expired and I had to uninstall it. Anyway I'm receiving emails from them on a regular basis.  :smileyhappy:

 

OPINION:  FOR THE MOMENT I dont think I will buy it because:

 

1) Revit is not very precise for steel

2) I'm not an expert in Revit Structure

3) The SDS/2 is at the beginning

4) It doesn't have localized version (Romania).

 

My workflow is like this:

I make the model in Revit, compute it in Robot, make some schematic drawings (I don't know the english terminology, but they are plans in which I show the placement of columns, beams, foundations) and then send it to ASD for detailing and shop drawing.

Latelly I use Revit a lot, but i've started only 3 years ago...

 

The Revit Structure Suite also contains ASD. What I like is:

 

1) It has some macros (enough for regular buildings)

2) It is based on AutoCad plaform (I have more experience with it)

3) Positioning of elements and automatic drawings and annotations.

 

I will not place here the inconveniences of ASD.

Valued Contributor
jorgeluisgdeaca
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 5 of 6 (1,489 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-04-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

sure, I'm not an expert  using Revit too, only I want to know HOW accurately and flexible can be with steel structures, for this it's one step back to other specifics programs, but I believe this is the bussines of Revit, is an non specific program.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,476 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-05-2012 12:25 AM in reply to: jorgeluisgdeaca

Revit is very flexible with steel, but not very accurate. At least not now.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!