AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
RedNova
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-30-2013
Message 1 of 6 (557 Views)

Size of bolts displayed wrong ASD 2013

557 Views, 5 Replies
01-31-2013 12:15 AM

Hi

 

I found that bolts sizes are displayed wrong in ASD 2013.

I mean sizes of bolts and nuts heads. They are displayed much bigger compared to the real size.
See attached comparison.

I will bring an example on the M16 bolt of DIN 7990 standard. But this issue is actual on any size and any standard in ASD database.

For M16 bolt DIN 7990 standard gives bolt head width - 24mm and bolt head height -10mm.

In ASD M16 bolt sizes are displayed as following: bolt head width - 27.71mm; bolt head height -16mm.

Same with nuts.

 

Looks like bolt head height is always displayed same with molt size (16mm for M16 bolt, etc). And the bolt head width is taken to match washer size.

 

I tried many ways to correct the situation but found nothing.

I have checked bolt description in bolts_DIN7990.xml file. And there all sizes are mentioned correct.

Removing of "Simplified modelling for connectors" mark in project preferences didn't help.

 

But at the end of my searches I found that one of bolts I was testing became corrected (only the bolt head, not the nut). Have no idea what caused this ))). See top bolt on second attached image.

 

Thanks in advance for any responds.

Valued Contributor
lucis29
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 2 of 6 (528 Views)

Re: Size of bolts displayed wrong ASD 2013

01-31-2013 05:07 AM in reply to: RedNova

I agree. Wainting for an official answer.

Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 3 of 6 (514 Views)

Re: Size of bolts displayed wrong ASD 2013

01-31-2013 06:54 AM in reply to: RedNova

 

ASD database "BoltsNutsWashers.xml"

 

BoltsNutsWashers.xml.png

 

 

and "nuts_DIN-EN-24034.xml"

 

nuts_DIN-EN-24034.xml.png

 

so database correct

 

ASD  Nuts Thick = Bolts diameter

 

surub.PNG

 

Bolts length wrong

 

bolts l.PNG

 

 

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Contributor
RedNova
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-30-2013
Message 4 of 6 (496 Views)

Re: Size of bolts displayed wrong ASD 2013

01-31-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: RedNova

So I am not alone.

Also I want to add that besides wrong displaying this issue is causing additional issues like:

  • bolts with autodetected length will be longer than necessary
  • collisions are wrongly detected in connections where they must be absent. And it is difficult to understand if there is real collision or not if connections are not very comfortably constructed.

zcsillag

In my case I have both heads of bolt and nut wrong sized. So you are luckier here :smileyhappy:

 

Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 5 of 6 (469 Views)

Re: Size of bolts displayed wrong ASD 2013

02-01-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: RedNova

Only NUTS wrong !

Select database, bolts size OK!Surub_.PNG

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Contributor
RedNova
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-30-2013
Message 6 of 6 (437 Views)

Re: Size of bolts displayed wrong ASD 2013

02-02-2013 07:27 AM in reply to: RedNova

Yes. If you select from the beginning "database", then bolt head is correct. But if you try to select "auto" or later on change "auto" to "database", then also bolt head is same big as nut :smileysad:

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.