AutoCAD Structural Detailing Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Structural Detailing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Structural Detailing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to ASD... and will be using automatic drawings???

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
tedmail
3082 Views, 12 Replies

New to ASD... and will be using automatic drawings???

Hello all,

I am new to ASD and am glad I waited until this release being I would have thrown it away from the sounds of it from a couple years back.  However, we are a decent size steel fabrication shop that deals with many odd ball jobs, but also many basic structural and the like.  So getting the structural jobs out is handy, but my real task ahead of me is to make it work for the odd ball railing, stairs, awnings, and other miscelaneous architectural quality projects.  I am going to try and keep this group in the loop on how I am going so that maybe we can solve some of the gaps we still have with ASD.

Currently I have ASD 2012 and will be talking about the STEEL module exclusively.  I am currently tryng to find the best ways to build a 3D model and assign families, names, possitions, assemblies, groups, schemes, etc so that when it comes time to do a printout, that it should happen rather efficiently.  My dims and text styles and all are finally up to par, and I notice I will always tweak these a bit before sending to the printer or finalizing the layout, but the layout of the cuts is still a bit funny right off the bat.  I also have not been too succesful in getting it to work on anything with more than 5 simple elements per assembly.

I know there is not much in tutorials on this software, but hopefully we can get a decent walk-through of how to create a full drawing set done in here soon.  I'll keep you guys posted on all I learn, and thanks for your help in advance!

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
jad.dellel