AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
75 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Gauge Plate Thickness

670 Views, 6 Replies
02-18-2013 03:02 PM

Is there a way to insert user defined plate thicknesses in the Plate Element tool? I need stair treads that are 10 gauge. The only choices I have are 1/8" and 3/16"... 

 

Any ideas or am I hosed?

 

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID

By UNITS change the type of system on Engineering with precision 0'-0.0000".


Use attached database in C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Structural\Common Data\2013\Data\Prof and plate thickness 0.1345"

---------------------------------------------
If this post answer your question please click "Accept as Solution". It will help everyone to find answer more quickly!

Product Support
317 Posts
32 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Post 2 of 7

Re: Gauge Plate Thickness

02-19-2013 03:46 AM in reply to: jneal

By UNITS change the type of system on Engineering with precision 0'-0.0000".


Use attached database in C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Structural\Common Data\2013\Data\Prof and plate thickness 0.1345"

---------------------------------------------
If this post answer your question please click "Accept as Solution". It will help everyone to find answer more quickly!



Jakub Brożonowicz
Valued Contributor
75 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Post 3 of 7

Re: Gauge Plate Thickness

02-19-2013 07:20 AM in reply to: Jakub.Brozonowicz

Jakub-

Thank you for answering all of my questions lately. Its a huge help. How do I edit the XML file if I want to add another thickness to it?

 

Thanks!
Jess

 

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Product Support
317 Posts
32 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Post 4 of 7

Re: Gauge Plate Thickness

02-19-2013 07:26 AM in reply to: jneal

It is possible to do in notepad.



Jakub Brożonowicz
Valued Contributor
75 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Post 5 of 7

Re: Gauge Plate Thickness

02-19-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: Jakub.Brozonowicz

Thank you... I see the format now. Is it possible to have the new gauge thicknesses in Fractional format as well?

 

Again Thank you Jakub for all your help!

 

Jess

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Product Support
317 Posts
32 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Post 6 of 7

Re: Gauge Plate Thickness

02-20-2013 02:13 AM in reply to: jneal

You mean 10 gauge = 0.1345" = 0 269/2000?

I do not think so.

We can use precision units like 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16 etc to 1/256 



Jakub Brożonowicz
Valued Contributor
75 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Post 7 of 7

Re: Gauge Plate Thickness

02-20-2013 08:13 AM in reply to: Jakub.Brozonowicz

Thank you Jakub. I realized after my post that it was probably a silly question. 

 

Jess

Application Engineer
All CAD Northwest
Meridian ID
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.