AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
tedmail
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-26-2011
Message 1 of 6 (1,095 Views)
Accepted Solution

From ASD to BIM?

1095 Views, 5 Replies
07-09-2011 07:19 AM

Any way of doing this?  I got comfertable modeling in ASD and forgot to go use Revit, and now I can't find a way to export it.

USE CIS/2 format (See pic)

CIS/2 is similar to IFC but used only for steel.

For example Tekla reads CIS/2

Revit reads only main profiles from CIS/2

 

If it is needed for visual , use ACIS Solids.

Member
BarryHaugen41
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
Message 2 of 6 (1,071 Views)

Re: From ASD to BIM?

07-13-2011 10:41 AM in reply to: tedmail

There is a couple of ways of doing this, first one is to use the revit extension for ASD, the only problem with that is only columns and beams come across. No connections or cuts come with the export. The second way is to export as ACIS solid model and bring that as an underlay into revit, you will loose the profile sizes but all the components will be there.

Valued Contributor
Priitl220
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 3 of 6 (1,021 Views)

Re: From ASD to BIM?

07-24-2011 11:44 PM in reply to: tedmail

USE CIS/2 format (See pic)

CIS/2 is similar to IFC but used only for steel.

For example Tekla reads CIS/2

Revit reads only main profiles from CIS/2

 

If it is needed for visual , use ACIS Solids.

____________________________________________
If you find my post useful give me Kudos. Thank you!
If my post solved your problem, accept it as a solution.
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 4 of 6 (675 Views)

Re: From ASD to BIM?....not realy...there is a BUG

10-16-2012 06:08 PM in reply to: Priitl220

that would work if there wasnt a BUG

 

cardinal points are ignored when the CIS/2 is exported

ie if you have your insertion line at TOS, then all your members will jump up so that the steel member profile is located with the centroid of section at TOS (all your steel will be half the member depth higher than it should be

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 5 of 6 (651 Views)

Re: From ASD to BIM?....not realy...there is a BUG

10-17-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

Try the Navisworks export. 'NWCOUT' command. What software will be working with the model after you export it? Every single BIM job I've done was required to provide model files compatable with Navisworks Manage. NWC files are extremely small in file size as well. Nice for emailing. 

 

Mark

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 6 of 6 (621 Views)

Re: From ASD to BIM?....not realy...there is a BUG

10-18-2012 02:58 PM in reply to: markhubrich

you cant imprort navis cache files into other detailing programs

nwcout does not create a CIS/2 (its a CIMsteel Integration Standards file, its a type of *.sat)

Im exporting for sending to a detailer that uses Tekla, but the CIS/2 bug will still be evident when pushed into a BIM program hence the double post :smileywink:

 

I would have used a different work flow from the start of the project if it was up to me.

When given lemons, I try to make lemonade :smileyvery-happy:

 

I was commenting on the bug in the autodesk version of this output, I can turn navis pretty much inside out, but thanks for the suggestion.

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.