AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

Reply
Member
tggray
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2007
Message 1 of 17 (2,446 Views)

raster design error unable to save

2446 Views, 16 Replies
11-02-2009 08:48 AM
After making a few changes to the image using raster design. When I try to save it I get a message that reads: Autocad Raster Design was unable to save your file to the name you required. Your data has been saved to the temporary file c:\Drawing work directory\AEC190.tmp.

I tried renaming it but it didn't help.
Distinguished Contributor
Mahahaavaahava
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎07-31-2005
Message 2 of 17 (2,446 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

11-08-2009 07:00 AM in reply to: tggray
Hi,

what version of RD are you using? Some formats RD can read but not write, have you tried saving to a different format using saveas? Can you write to the directory where you opened the file and are you sure it's not write-protected?

/Petri
Member
tggray
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2007
Message 3 of 17 (2,446 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

11-16-2009 11:44 AM in reply to: tggray
2010 Raster Design on Autocad Mechanical 2010
If I change the name everytime, then it is fine.
Yes, I am saving it on my own c:drive which is read/write
Yes, I am sure it is not write protected or full

Thanks for your help
New Member
ggarcia
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Message 4 of 17 (2,446 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

01-05-2010 04:03 PM in reply to: tggray
I just came across this thread as we are having the same problem with Raster Design 2010. That is we are unable to save back to the original tiff file after changes are made using the TOUCHUP tools with in Raster Design 2010. The ERROR message reads Autocad Raster Design was unable to save your file to the name you required. Your data has been saved to the temporary file. If we avoid the TOUCHUP tools we are able to save back to the original tiff file. Is anyone else experiencing this same problem??

Thanks in advance....Gathen
Contributor
baxter-45
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 5 of 17 (2,447 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

04-05-2010 06:29 AM in reply to: tggray
I had the same problem with saving a Tif in RD 2010. After inserting the tif file and before making any changes to the tif file I go to the IMAGE menu and with the frame toggled on I use IMAGE EMBED. I make all by changes to the tif while it's embedded. When I'm finished I use SAVE-AS from the IMAGE menu and save it using the file name of my choice. This works most of the time.
I hope this works for you....

baxter45
Active Contributor
kossios
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-04-2002
Message 6 of 17 (2,447 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

04-06-2010 06:48 AM in reply to: tggray
I was just about to post this exact same problem and noticed it was the first on the list. I have to use the save as command and insert the same file name to overwrite the exisitng file every time. This problem has only creeped up in the past two months. Previously, it worked fine. Autodesk needs to investigate this one since there seems to be a great number of us experiencing it all of a sudden. Most annoying though.
Active Contributor
kossios
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-04-2002
Message 7 of 17 (2,450 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

04-07-2010 07:41 AM in reply to: tggray
Update:
I wrote tech support yesterday and this was their response:

Our Product Development team is aware of this defect and is working on a fix.

At this time, we do not have any specific information about exactly when the fix will be released. I have, however, linked this Support Request to the entry for this defect in our defect-tracking system, so you will be notified by e-mail when the fix is released.

In the meantime, you might consider using an earlier version of AutoCAD Raster Design (running on a matching earlier version of AutoCAD or your AutoCAD-based application) instead of the 2010 version. Otherwise, using the Save As command in Raster Design (or ISAVEAS on the command line) is really the only workaround for the 2010 version, until the fix comes out.
Active Member
cpanas
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2002
Message 8 of 17 (2,451 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

04-13-2010 10:26 AM in reply to: tggray
Just in time to catch this thread, recent computer hard drive upgrade, and my IT installs Version 10, with raster 10. I get the cant find file error message with instructions to reinstall, I do the reinstall, and then I do the uninstall, and reinstall, get a working ACAD Drawing with Raster Design on top of Civil 3d, insert a sid pic into the drawing, and quick save is poping up the error message,

"One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format. The operation was not completed and no file was created."

It seems that you all are chatting up a similar theme, but using the file save as command I get the same error message.

Next thing I do is try to save the SID pic to a diferent file format, (JPEG) and I get a FATAL ERROR OUT OF MEMORY error message.

Thought I would browse the buzz here at the forums, but am not sure I am on the same page you all are chatting about. The post of the Autodesk people saying "we will get back to you on that"(paraphrase), is not comforting at all.
Active Contributor
kossios
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-04-2002
Message 9 of 17 (2,451 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

04-13-2010 10:35 AM in reply to: tggray
This is the latest message I received from Autodesk regarding this issue:

Our product development team has been accelerating its work on this particular product defect ("bug") in the last few days.

Although there is still no official word on the timing of a fix, it has emerged that the code that needs to be changed to prevent this error is actually in the underlying AutoCAD application, not in Raster Design itself.

Therefore, the fix (once it comes out) most likely will be in the form of free service packs for AutoCAD and the various AutoCAD-based applications, rather than an update to Raster Design.
Distinguished Contributor
svend007
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-30-2007
Message 10 of 17 (2,452 Views)

Re: raster design error unable to save

04-23-2010 07:20 AM in reply to: tggray
I've had this problem with the 2009 version as well and it seemed to be related to the files (mysteriously) having read only attributes when checking them in 'explorer'. I should also add that I am using Vault as well.
PeteB.
Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Raster Design Category!

The AutoCAD Raster Design forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.