AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 1 of 5 (1,760 Views)

Merging vector to raster problem

1760 Views, 4 Replies
04-25-2012 04:57 AM

When merging vector back to raster thickness is added to lines and text making some text un-readable.  For example when we remove text from a raster drawing and replace the text with new AutoCAD text we merge the final drawing back to raster.  When doing this Raster Design adds thickness to lines making some letters look smudged.  Like the inside of an "A" filled in so you can't read it.

 

Does anyone know of a setting to fix this and not add thickness to the letters?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Brian

New Member
oswinh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 2 of 5 (1,683 Views)

Re: Merging vector to raster problem

08-08-2012 09:59 PM in reply to: snakerancher

Brian,

 

Hi. I've been having the same/similar problem using AutoCAD 2010 with Raster Design 2010.

 

A couple of additional aspects:-

  1. The problem has been intermittant. I've not had the problem for awhile and thought I'd resolved it, however it appears to have started again.
  2. I've found that the thickness appears to get worse to the point where text, arrows, etc become unreadable and unrecognisable.
  3. I found that specifying the correct scaling factor when inserting the original TIF file into AutoCAD, when using "Insert" and "Raster Image Reference", appears to mostly resolve the problem.

Have you been able to fix the problem yourself or had any feedback with regards to this?

 

Regards, Hayden

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 3 of 5 (1,677 Views)

Re: Merging vector to raster problem

08-09-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: snakerancher

We have no resolution to this other than Autodesk told us to use 2010 products to manipulate raster entities.

 

If you found a soulution, it would be great if you explained the scaling part more.

 

Thanks,

Brian

New Member
oswinh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 4 of 5 (1,670 Views)

Re: Merging vector to raster problem

08-09-2012 10:33 PM in reply to: snakerancher

Brian,

 

Hi. With regards to the scaling factor solution, when I Insert a Raster Image (TIF file) into AutoCAD one of the things that can be done at that stage is to specify a scale factor. Our system is set to default to "1", however this can be overridden depending on the scale of the drawing which is being inserted. For example, a drawing (TIF file) which has a scale of 1:480 I would probably insert into AutoCAD with a scale factor of "0.25".

 

I found that when I did this it appeared to fix the problem with unreadable text, etc. at the time of merging, however the last two days I appear to be back to square one.

 

Regards, Hayden

New Member
MarkIrving1334
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 5 of 5 (24 Views)

Re: Merging vector to raster problem

12-08-2014 06:41 AM in reply to: oswinh

Hello. I've had the same problem recently and found that, after the first raster image insert into a new drawing the scale of the drawing (text sizes etc. were tiny) I scaled the drawing by 25.4 (inches to mm to get it back to a workable scale). My Autocad insertion units was set to inches. I later did a reset to unitless.

     With regard to the merge vector line weights, click on the 'Edit' box within 'Raster Tools' and go to 'Raster Pen'. This gives pixel width settings for different colours. The default pen widths on my version was set to 3 pixels. Reduce this value(s) to find the setting you like before hitting the merge button.

Hope this helps.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Raster Design Category!

The AutoCAD Raster Design forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.