AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

Reply
Member
doublef
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-02-2003
Message 1 of 6 (680 Views)

insert coordinates

680 Views, 5 Replies
08-28-2003 10:54 PM
I have many tif files, with their own tfW files.
During insert image operation, Autocad Raster Design 3 (used with AAD 3.3) inserts the tif file with a movement/error : 0.5 drawing units to north and 0.5 drawing units to east.

I need to insert the tif file directly to the tfW coordinates.

How can i change these settings?

Sorry for my english (i'm not english mother-languaged)

Thanks to everybody
*Lincoln, Tracy W.
Message 2 of 6 (680 Views)

Re: insert coordinates

08-30-2003 09:58 PM in reply to: doublef
Is your UCS in the World Coordinate System?
(Not sure if this matters) What is your SNAPBASE & SNAPANG?

Were the TFW files created in some other coordinate system or unit of
measure?

*******************************************************
Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
*******************************************************

Tracy W. Lincoln, Assistant Moderator
Autodesk Discussion Groups Forum Moderator Program

Discussion Group Links:
Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
Member
doublef
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-02-2003
Message 3 of 6 (680 Views)

Re:

08-31-2003 04:45 PM in reply to: doublef
snapbase is 0.000,0.000
snapang is 0.000

my UCS is in the world coordinates

but the problem is different.
my tfw is ie:
1.000
0.000
0.000
-1.000
1000.000
2000.000

and raster design, after reading it, uses as correlation values :
999.500
1900.500

for an image 150 px large and 100 px high.

How could I impose to raster design to insert my image directly in 1000;2000?

Thanks in advance
*Huw
Message 4 of 6 (680 Views)

Re:

08-31-2003 05:58 PM in reply to: doublef
World file co-ordinates are to centre of pixel. Could raster design be
treating them as corner of pixel?

"doublef" wrote in message
news:f185b15.1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> snapbase is 0.000,0.000
> snapang is 0.000
> my UCS is in the world coordinates
>
> but the problem is different.
> my tfw is ie:
> 1.000
> 0.000
> 0.000
> -1.000
> 1000.000
> 2000.000
>
> and raster design, after reading it, uses as correlation values :
> 999.500
> 1900.500
>
> for an image 150 px large and 100 px high.
>
> How could I impose to raster design to insert my image directly in
1000;2000?
>
> Thanks in advance
>
Member
doublef
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-02-2003
Message 5 of 6 (680 Views)

Re:

09-02-2003 04:19 PM in reply to: doublef
could you explain better your idea regarding my problem?
i'm not english mother languaged and so ... i didn't get your advice.

thanks a lot
*bwb
Message 6 of 6 (680 Views)

Re:

09-03-2003 12:04 PM in reply to: doublef

Indications are your image is off by half a
pixel dimension.

 

The native origin for an image
file is the center of the upper left pixel, with the positive x direction being
to the right and the positive y direction being downward.

 

The insertion point of a raster object
in AutoCad is the lower left corner of the image frame (i.e. the lower left
corner of the lower left pixel). This provides the opportunity for a half pixel
differential during the translation.  It seems I remember encountering
this offset between using the world file as a correlation
source and using the image file as the correlation source for files
with GeoTIFF header information.  Try checking the
correlation wizard during the insertion process for the values associated
with world and image file correlation parameters.

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
could
you explain better your idea regarding my problem?
i'm not english mother
languaged and so ... i didn't get your advice.

thanks a lot

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Raster Design Category!

The AutoCAD Raster Design forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.