AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
33 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Post 1 of 8

Coverting Image to Vector

853 Views, 7 Replies
09-25-2013 07:33 AM

What is the best way to convert an entire image to vector?

Active Contributor
33 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Post 2 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-25-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: rschnureIV

Do you have to do every single line individually???  Is there a way to create a window and select the entire image to turn to autocad lines?

*Expert Elite*
4,050 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 3 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-26-2013 01:29 PM in reply to: rschnureIV
no - its a very manual process unfortunately
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
33 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Post 4 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:31 AM in reply to: neilyj
Yeah, Autodesk confimed that directly to me. Brutal.



Thanks



Robert Schnure

Mechanical Designer/Cad Coordinator

Mechanical Engineering

Tel.: (610) 524-5920 x 52251

Dir.: (610) 423-6251

Toll free: (877) 243-9711

Fax: (610) 524-2443

SNC-Lavalin Project Services, Inc.

436 Creamery Way, Suite 100

Exton | Pennsylvania | United States | 19341







NOTICE - This email message, and any attachments, may contain
information or material that is confidential, privileged and/or subject
to copyright or other rights. Any unauthorized viewing, disclosure,
retransmission, dissemination or other use of or reliance on this
message, or anything contained therein, is strictly prohibited and may
be unlawful. If you believe you may have received this message in error,
kindly inform the sender by return email and delete this message from
your system. Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
4,050 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 5 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:38 AM in reply to: rschnureIV
...although if it was automated how would the software know which line to follow at junctions
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
33 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Post 6 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:42 AM in reply to: neilyj
I don't know but we have GTX and it does it. I was hoping the Autodesk
flavor would be better.



Robert Schnure

Mechanical Designer/Cad Coordinator

Mechanical Engineering

Tel.: (610) 524-5920 x 52251

Dir.: (610) 423-6251

Toll free: (877) 243-9711

Fax: (610) 524-2443

SNC-Lavalin Project Services, Inc.

436 Creamery Way, Suite 100

Exton | Pennsylvania | United States | 19341







NOTICE - This email message, and any attachments, may contain
information or material that is confidential, privileged and/or subject
to copyright or other rights. Any unauthorized viewing, disclosure,
retransmission, dissemination or other use of or reliance on this
message, or anything contained therein, is strictly prohibited and may
be unlawful. If you believe you may have received this message in error,
kindly inform the sender by return email and delete this message from
your system. Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
4,050 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 7 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:48 AM in reply to: rschnureIV
Autodesk seem to be concentrating all resources on cloud based/driven products and don't seem to care much about usability of legacy products and making improvements to them
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
33 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Post 8 of 8

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 05:23 AM in reply to: neilyj
Agree. Either that or they just purchase products made by others and
put their name on it



Robert Schnure

Mechanical Designer/Cad Coordinator

Mechanical Engineering

Tel.: (610) 524-5920 x 52251

Dir.: (610) 423-6251

Toll free: (877) 243-9711

Fax: (610) 524-2443

SNC-Lavalin Project Services, Inc.

436 Creamery Way, Suite 100

Exton | Pennsylvania | United States | 19341







NOTICE - This email message, and any attachments, may contain
information or material that is confidential, privileged and/or subject
to copyright or other rights. Any unauthorized viewing, disclosure,
retransmission, dissemination or other use of or reliance on this
message, or anything contained therein, is strictly prohibited and may
be unlawful. If you believe you may have received this message in error,
kindly inform the sender by return email and delete this message from
your system. Thank you.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Raster Design Category!

The AutoCAD Raster Design forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!