AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
rschnureIV
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Message 1 of 8 (837 Views)

Coverting Image to Vector

837 Views, 7 Replies
09-25-2013 07:33 AM

What is the best way to convert an entire image to vector?

Active Contributor
rschnureIV
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Message 2 of 8 (827 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-25-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: rschnureIV

Do you have to do every single line individually???  Is there a way to create a window and select the entire image to turn to autocad lines?

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,737
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 8 (809 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-26-2013 01:29 PM in reply to: rschnureIV
no - its a very manual process unfortunately
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
rschnureIV
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Message 4 of 8 (801 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:31 AM in reply to: neilyj
Yeah, Autodesk confimed that directly to me. Brutal.



Thanks



Robert Schnure

Mechanical Designer/Cad Coordinator

Mechanical Engineering

Tel.: (610) 524-5920 x 52251

Dir.: (610) 423-6251

Toll free: (877) 243-9711

Fax: (610) 524-2443

SNC-Lavalin Project Services, Inc.

436 Creamery Way, Suite 100

Exton | Pennsylvania | United States | 19341







NOTICE - This email message, and any attachments, may contain
information or material that is confidential, privileged and/or subject
to copyright or other rights. Any unauthorized viewing, disclosure,
retransmission, dissemination or other use of or reliance on this
message, or anything contained therein, is strictly prohibited and may
be unlawful. If you believe you may have received this message in error,
kindly inform the sender by return email and delete this message from
your system. Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,737
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 8 (798 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:38 AM in reply to: rschnureIV
...although if it was automated how would the software know which line to follow at junctions
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
rschnureIV
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Message 6 of 8 (796 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:42 AM in reply to: neilyj
I don't know but we have GTX and it does it. I was hoping the Autodesk
flavor would be better.



Robert Schnure

Mechanical Designer/Cad Coordinator

Mechanical Engineering

Tel.: (610) 524-5920 x 52251

Dir.: (610) 423-6251

Toll free: (877) 243-9711

Fax: (610) 524-2443

SNC-Lavalin Project Services, Inc.

436 Creamery Way, Suite 100

Exton | Pennsylvania | United States | 19341







NOTICE - This email message, and any attachments, may contain
information or material that is confidential, privileged and/or subject
to copyright or other rights. Any unauthorized viewing, disclosure,
retransmission, dissemination or other use of or reliance on this
message, or anything contained therein, is strictly prohibited and may
be unlawful. If you believe you may have received this message in error,
kindly inform the sender by return email and delete this message from
your system. Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,737
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 8 (793 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 04:48 AM in reply to: rschnureIV
Autodesk seem to be concentrating all resources on cloud based/driven products and don't seem to care much about usability of legacy products and making improvements to them
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
rschnureIV
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
Message 8 of 8 (788 Views)

Re: Coverting Image to Vector

09-27-2013 05:23 AM in reply to: neilyj
Agree. Either that or they just purchase products made by others and
put their name on it



Robert Schnure

Mechanical Designer/Cad Coordinator

Mechanical Engineering

Tel.: (610) 524-5920 x 52251

Dir.: (610) 423-6251

Toll free: (877) 243-9711

Fax: (610) 524-2443

SNC-Lavalin Project Services, Inc.

436 Creamery Way, Suite 100

Exton | Pennsylvania | United States | 19341







NOTICE - This email message, and any attachments, may contain
information or material that is confidential, privileged and/or subject
to copyright or other rights. Any unauthorized viewing, disclosure,
retransmission, dissemination or other use of or reliance on this
message, or anything contained therein, is strictly prohibited and may
be unlawful. If you believe you may have received this message in error,
kindly inform the sender by return email and delete this message from
your system. Thank you.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Raster Design Category!

The AutoCAD Raster Design forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.