AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

Reply
New Member
JICKPAGE
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
Message 1 of 3 (255 Views)

trouble importing points into drawing file autocad R14

255 Views, 2 Replies
02-27-2012 09:29 AM

Recently had hard drive crash and had to replace system hard drive. I am using Win2K and have reloaded autocad and softdesk and have the system functioning again. Using autocad R14 and have been for many many years. Do not want to update autocad to new version but am desperate to get the one I have working the way it did before the system crash.

 

I have called up a drawing file and am attempting to insert points from an ascii file into this drawing. I have verified that the ascii file does, in fact, have the correct points by viewing it with notepad. When I import using <points>, <import from file> and choose the ascii file from which I want to import, autocad attempts the import but no points show up in the actual drawing. I have looked at every possible setting that I can think of, have determined that the file is not "locked", I have search through the autocad help section, I have searched through the forums on this site, I have searched across the web, and I've done everything else I can think of to try and locate any possible reason for this inexplicable behavior, all to no avail. I believe there must be a setting somewhere that I have not set correctly but I am baffled as to which setting that might be. I would most appreciate any help anyone could provide with possible solutions.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 3 (247 Views)

Re: trouble importing points into drawing file autocad R14

02-28-2012 05:18 AM in reply to: JICKPAGE

why don't you post the points file here and see if it actually works first.

Can you also explain your import method using AutoCAD command names and terminology please?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,301
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 3 of 3 (240 Views)

Re: trouble importing points into drawing file autocad R14

02-28-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: JICKPAGE

Did you set up Drawing Path correctly? 

Go to Project and see if it ties to Fixed Path or Project "DWG" Folder

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!