AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

Reply
New Member
lpeahl
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2009
Message 1 of 16 (30,080 Views)

Autocad 14 Windows 7

30080 Views, 15 Replies
11-02-2009 02:19 PM
Have been runing 14 on KP with no problems. Can'trun it on Windows (tried on two different machines) because of stack error. I have 2gb RAM. Is this a compatability problem with Windows 7?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 16 (30,074 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

11-03-2009 05:00 AM in reply to: lpeahl
Win7Pro 32bit only (note the Pro version), and use the XP compatibility
mode.

2Gig RAM is inadequate for Win7, 4G minimum. Stay with XP if that's all you
got.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
New Member
4retsel
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 3 of 16 (30,076 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

11-03-2009 09:30 PM in reply to: lpeahl
Dean, I am not sure about your recommendation, I believe that the Pro version is 64bit but the std version does not have the "XP" mode. Can you elaborate please.

best regards,

Restel
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 16 (30,077 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

11-04-2009 05:02 AM in reply to: lpeahl
huh?
PRO and Ultimate have "XP mode" option, Home/Starter versions do not:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/download.aspx

Except for Win7STARTER version (only comes in 32bit), the other FOUR
versions of Win7 are available in 32bit and 64bit.

If the OP only has 2Gig installed, the OP's PC is most likely not equipped
with 64-bit hardware or a motherboard capable of 6Gig or 8Gig RAM, so
installing Win7 is a waste of money if they are already running XP.

And we are still talking about R14 here.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
New Member
4retsel
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 5 of 16 (30,079 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

11-04-2009 09:21 AM in reply to: lpeahl
Dean thanks for the explanation. I was getting the Windows info from the Dell laptop configuration page and it did not specify 32 or 64 for the versions. I am torn here because I would like to get a new laptop and take advantage of the 64 tech but I can not afford a compatible version of ACAD.

best regards,

Retsel
New Member
RegArchi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 6 of 16 (30,077 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

11-26-2009 04:00 AM in reply to: lpeahl
Hi Dean
I am wanting to upgrage from XP professional to Windows7-ultimate. I have 4 gig ram on board.
Is all going to be OK? I know that i will need to download the XP mode (virtual PC) scenario!
It's just that i am a little nervous as i really depend on my long time use of Autocad Release 14.
Thanks!
*Dean Saadallah
Message 7 of 16 (30,076 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

11-30-2009 05:25 AM in reply to: lpeahl
If you want a guarantee or assurances, buy AutoCAD 2010 or don't change
anything.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
New Member
Gliderbill
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-02-2010
Message 8 of 16 (30,076 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

01-02-2010 02:26 PM in reply to: lpeahl
I have a dwg that will not allow me to change the line type no matter what I do. Have not had this problem before. When I try to load a "continuous" line, every line I draw becomes a hidden line. What must I do?
Thanks for any help!
*A+P
Message 9 of 16 (30,076 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

05-04-2010 04:33 PM in reply to: lpeahl
CELTYPE
BYLAYER

Paul

wrote in message news:6311311@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have a dwg that will not allow me to change the line type no matter what I
do. Have not had this problem before. When I try to load a "continuous"
line, every line I draw becomes a hidden line. What must I do?
Thanks for any help!
Member
dbrixey
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-08-2010
Message 10 of 16 (29,524 Views)

Re: Autocad 14 Windows 7

07-08-2010 01:31 PM in reply to: lpeahl

I have been running Autocad 14 for years but I just got a new laptop and there is no place to put the hardware lock!

is there anything that I can do?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.