AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

Reply
*Expert Elite*
6,431 Posts
601 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Post 11 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-08-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

Read the label

Active Member
8 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Post 12 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-08-2012 04:41 PM in reply to: Patchy

The ones I have are old copies. All I have is a legit serial #. Is there a difference in the interface between the DOS and Windows version? I know my dad used to run it on Windows 3.1. The mouse works in the DOS version, right? *scratches head*

*Expert Elite*
6,431 Posts
601 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Post 13 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-08-2012 07:22 PM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

Yes the mouse works with DOS, a problem I had with setting up r12 was the video driver, without the instructions I can't remember what the command was.

Maybe it's in the readme.txt after installed.

Valued Contributor
65 Posts
14 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-26-2004
Post 14 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-09-2012 02:45 AM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

This seems way more complicated than it needs to be.

 

I have Release 11 on several 5.25" floppies and they are plainly labeled with the words "DOS 386".  I also have another set of disks, same size, still in their shrink wrap, labeled "Release 11 c2 Extension for Windows".  Aren't your disks labeled? 

Active Member
8 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Post 15 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-09-2012 02:01 PM in reply to: Patchy

Nope. Like I said they are copies of the original R12 discs.

 

Will Autocad provide me a new set of R12 disks if I provide them our serial #? It is a legit serial # and it should bring up his name/company name behind it if they sill keep a database for that sort of thing...

Valued Contributor
65 Posts
14 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-26-2004
Post 16 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-10-2012 02:34 AM in reply to: Patchy

No.  AutoDesk will not provide you with new disks.  R12 like so many other versions is no longer supported.

 

Why not just take the plunge and try installing what you have?  In the time it took to have this entire conversation you would have had an answer.

 

1. Disks are so old there was a problem and the program could not be installed.

 

2. Program installed as the DOS version.

 

3. Program installed as the Windows version.

 

They are no other outcomes.

Contributor
19 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎01-31-2009
Post 17 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-10-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

The error "FATAL ERROR: !PMSDOSA 3" seems to be associated with the PHARLAP.386 file. If you don't have the C3 patch installed it could be the problem.

 

Gene

*Expert Elite*
24,312 Posts
1,605 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 18 of 18

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-10-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: easymike299

>>>...My dad has a PhD in architecture but can't learn Autocad R14...<<<

One word: INTERN. Check your local trade / community college school teaching AutoCAD for candidates.

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!