AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 61 of 200 (1,798 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-17-2012 01:26 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

In Plant 3D when you hover over a pipe it says that it is a pipe, if you hover over anything else for example bends, flanges, valves etc., it says that it is a Pipe Inline Asset which is not very helpful.

 

I would like to see the Long Description (Size), other users might like to see the Long Description (Family), either way it would be good to have an easy way to set up what is shown when we hover over a pipe, valve etc.

Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 62 of 200 (1,798 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-17-2012 01:27 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

When the Isometrics are created it is notified in the Status Bar Tray. We usually have the variable Traynotify turned off since we don’t want to be notified each time a plot is created, but this also turns off the notification of the isometrics. Would it be possible to separate these two notifications?

Valued Contributor
peter.jansoone
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 63 of 200 (1,794 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-17-2012 02:20 AM in reply to: ybogdanov

add an 'update border' or 'replace border' command to p&id, allowing to use newer versions or switching to another size.

---------------------
Peter Jansoone
Plant Design software consultant at Greenock CAD service
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 64 of 200 (1,778 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-17-2012 05:44 PM in reply to: peter.jansoone

Further to my comment above regarding information listed when you hover over a pipe, you should also be able to get the information from piping components in an xref. From past experience this is an extremely useful feature

Member
marodi
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-11-2011
Message 65 of 200 (1,763 Views)

Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-19-2012 01:33 AM in reply to: ybogdanov

I pray for 3 main upgrade:

I. BE AVAILIBLE to create new P3D classes, and in this way, better mappaing options

II. Better ISO generating, without splitting small piperuns to 20 sheets /without any

knowable reason/

III. Smarter ORTHO creation

 

Future "dream" wishes:

 

Changing the graphic engine to something that can handle such projects, that

Plant should, but just dying under them. In other softwares. It is not a big deal,

to make the PID-PLANT-ISO communicate back and forth!!! COME ON!

Why don't developers make our life easier, and create a market leading

solution???

(Okay I got it, that there is AutoCAD connection, but maybe we absolutely do not

need it anymore. For example, I really like the Inventors drawing interface, and it also

communicate with AC, so everybody is happy with it...)

 

THANK YOU AUTODESK, for listening to my mortal words!

 

Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 454
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 66 of 200 (1,754 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-19-2012 09:24 PM in reply to: ybogdanov

Following basic modelling tools are required in Plant3d space itself, presently basic structural tools only available in Plant3d space.

 

Basic civil modelling tools like beam, column, wall, window, door, lintel and civil staircase with hand rail.

 

Basic Electrical cable trays and HVAC ducts of various sizes.

 

We would like to have only shape intelligent, not other intelligents. Presently we are using autocad extrude commands for making beam, column, slab, which cause difficulty if sizes are changed.

 

Hope this will be available in 2014 release.

Valued Contributor
peter.jansoone
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 67 of 200 (1,697 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

10-26-2012 12:55 AM in reply to: ybogdanov

A 'activate spec' command that activates the spec by selecting a component. It should pick up the spec from that item and make it current.   

---------------------
Peter Jansoone
Plant Design software consultant at Greenock CAD service
Valued Contributor
Arch_art
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 68 of 200 (1,607 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

11-04-2012 04:19 PM in reply to: ybogdanov

My wish are:

 

  1. more inteligent pipe support, it is a big headache to insert the pipe support at the moment, it is so hard to modified it with the support lengh. I will have to delete it and redo it again. It would be nice if I can modify it still after it is insert. It would save me a lot of time.
  2. circular railling (at the moment, I have to do it manually, painful!)
  3. cable tray !!!!
  4. insulation to showup in Navisworks.
  5. better ortho. It is quite painful to update/edit a ortho view, Also, when pipe penetrate through the tank, (i.e. circular tank), it won't be able to show the penetration properly. please improve this, to avoid the manually editting.
  6. data manager, sorting via multi criterias, and exported to excel as you sorted in Data manager
  7. imporve the workflow from Revit (structural) to Plant 3D. At the moment, I have to unit all the 3d solid exported out from Revit before I create ortho. Otherwise, the it will give me some unwanted line between walls and floors, etc.

 

Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 69 of 200 (1,553 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

11-09-2012 04:11 PM in reply to: Arch_art

Standardise the Plant 3D Catalog format so that they work with all releases or make available a convertor for saving to earlier releases. Presently you have different content packs available for different releases but the newer ones cannot be used by earlier releases. This is only going to get worse


Due to other software we are presently working in Plant 3D 2012, we are producing a catalog based on ISCO IPS HDPE Pipes. Autodesk have just made this content pack available for download but only for Plant 3D 2013, this is really annoying.


Having to convert the Specs and catalogs each release might have seemed like a good idea at the time but from a users viewpoint it is painful.

Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 70 of 200 (1,551 Views)

Re: Wish List AutoCAD Plant3D 2014

11-09-2012 04:18 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Add weights to your catalogs. CadWorx do this by creating and ASME catalog for Stainless Steel and Carbon Steel, this covers most situations.

 

Create an ASME Metric catalog. I know it is based on imperial sizes but I like to keep all of the catalogs used in the project Metric.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!