AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Contributor
tylerkerr
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 1 of 7 (471 Views)

Victaulic Help

471 Views, 6 Replies
10-11-2012 02:01 PM

We have a project coming up that will involve lots of Vic and 150# constuction.  I'm working on the trial version of Plant 3D 2013 to see if I can sell an upgrade from CADworx to my boss.  I downloaded the Victatulic content and have been trying to play with it but I've run into a few issues so far.

1) Customer spec calls for No. 10 Vic elbows.  However, when I try to auto route, I'm just getting 8" radius w/ 4" tangent pipes.  Any way to get that to properly use the No. 10 elbows?  Under Spec Viewer, I see the No.10 is set as the default but it clearly isn't making it into the model properly.

2) The site will have both fiberglass tanks and metals tanks.  I've created at least what would be the metal tanks but I can't find a proper way to use the No. 741 connector to connect directly to the nozzle.  When I try to place a flange adapter, I end up with a WNF placed on the nozzle with the Flange Adapter placed at the welded end of the neck.  Any ideas?

 

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 7 (403 Views)

Re: Victaulic Help

10-15-2012 06:27 PM in reply to: tylerkerr

1.  Sounds like Pipe Bends are turned on.

10-15-2012 9-17-59 PM.png

 

 2.  It sounds like the joints may not be setup correctly.  Are you placing the adapter from the spec view palette or routing from the nozzle?

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Active Contributor
tylerkerr
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 3 of 7 (386 Views)

Re: Victaulic Help

10-16-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Pipe Bends fixed issue #1.  Thanks.

 

On #2, if I try to place it routing from the nozzle, I get the follow error.

"Cannot connect parts. No connection defined for end types FL and GRV in the config file."

 

If I try to place it from the palette, it places a WNF with a flange adapter.  If I then try to route from the flange adapter, I get the same error as above.  If I close the error and procede to route, at the end fo the route (even to an open end), I get the same errror again.

vic.png

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 4 of 7 (386 Views)

Re: Victaulic Help

10-16-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: tylerkerr

In the readme for the Vic content pak it say to copy the defaultconnectorsconfig.xml to the project, did you do this?

 

http://autocad.autodesk.com/ama/orig/plant/README__VICTAULIC_Content_Pack.pdf

 

 

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Active Contributor
tylerkerr
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 5 of 7 (383 Views)

Re: Victaulic Help

10-16-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Confirmed that I had placed that file in the correct location.  stil getting the error.

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 6 of 7 (372 Views)

Re: Victaulic Help

10-16-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: tylerkerr

Are you using this item:

 

10-16-2012 12-27-46 PM.png

 

If you are, you should be getting the GRV/FL mismatch, b/c the adapter is PL on one end and FL on the other.  Maybe attaching a sample model with the adapter you are using with a sample equipment would help troubleshoot the issue.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Active Contributor
tylerkerr
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Message 7 of 7 (370 Views)

Re: Victaulic Help

10-16-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Dave,

Here is the file.  Thanks for your help on this.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!