AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
batone79
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 1 of 7 (1,325 Views)

Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

1325 Views, 6 Replies
08-29-2012 01:20 AM

Hi to everyone,

We convert all type of Valves and Actuators that we need into a Catalog with  Custom Geometry.

 

Once insert  into spec to use in the drawing, some times actuators appear as was created and some time appear big, Giant.

 

Where is the problem or what is the solution?

 

thanks..!!

 

 

 

01.jpg

 

02.jpg

 

Valued Contributor
peter.jansoone
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 2 of 7 (1,299 Views)

Re: Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

08-30-2012 12:54 AM in reply to: batone79

check if you're using the same units in blocks and drawings

---------------------
Peter Jansoone
Plant Design software consultant at Greenock CAD service
Valued Contributor
batone79
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 3 of 7 (1,297 Views)

Re: Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

08-30-2012 12:59 AM in reply to: batone79

yes, I´m using the same units in each drawing, I mean, same units in Block and Plantpartconvert Drawing and same units when insert in the 3D pipe Drawings.

 

Thanks.

Valued Contributor
peter.jansoone
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 4 of 7 (1,293 Views)

Re: Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

08-30-2012 03:36 AM in reply to: batone79

check this :

 

http://www.cadlinecommunity.co.uk/Blogs/Blog.aspx?ScoId=a71dcb78-3652-49e7-906b-11067dedacde&returnT...

 

 

somewhere there must be a mix-up in units

---------------------
Peter Jansoone
Plant Design software consultant at Greenock CAD service
Valued Contributor
batone79
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 5 of 7 (1,252 Views)

Re: Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

09-05-2012 05:39 AM in reply to: batone79

Thanks Peter.. now work well

 

If you are using Mixed Metric Project, when you are going to create custom valves you´ll should create valve block into a mm .dwg and actuators into a inches .dwg

 

A trick is generate a mm .dwg with valve and actuator in right position an generate plantpartconvert of valves only.

 

for actuator you need to generate a new empty .dwg in inches and insert last mm .dwg where you got valves and actuator in mm as xRef into inches .dwg. after do this, bind the xRef inserted from External Reference Manager and delete all valves.

 

With this last step you got all actuators in right position and in inches, well scaled to start Plantpartconvert to each one.

 

thanks again Peter...!!

Member
Lars_Petersson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
Message 6 of 7 (1,182 Views)

Re: Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

10-09-2012 11:45 PM in reply to: batone79

Hi

 

I have the same issue, with the actuator being a giant.

However, my project is in metric, my drawings and blocks are metric. And when i first inserted the valve with actuator, it was fine. But now the actuator behaves like it is in inches. A giant in size and further away from the valve. Also when i insert the component, the existing one which was fine, also gets the new giant actuator.

 

Any idea how i should proceed? I've tried to change the width and height of the actuator in spec editor without fortune.

Basically, i've tried everything i can think of.

 

Thanks for your help

Member
Lars_Petersson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
Message 7 of 7 (1,166 Views)

Re: Valve Actuator With Custom Parts

10-10-2012 10:53 PM in reply to: batone79

Update

 

The wierd thing is. First component i insert into the drawing is in the correct size. But the second one is always huge.

and if i place it, the first ones actuator becomes the same giant size as well. Same on all drawings. First is ok. Second not.

 

All things are in mm. Any ideas are welcome.

 

Thanks

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!