AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Member
jcsu6206
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2010
Message 1 of 7 (986 Views)

Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

986 Views, 6 Replies
04-16-2010 04:19 PM
In Autoplant you have the ability to tap the end of a cap (for instance) to place a nipple and/or an olet and valve for a drain
also you could tap bleed rings if you had more than one valve (opposite sides) attached to it. Is there anyway to
do this in P3D.
Employee
gulnacm
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 2 of 7 (985 Views)

Re: Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

04-22-2010 06:14 AM in reply to: jcsu6206
Hi jcsu6206,
by default there is a tapped connection on a bleed ring this can be seen by pick the bleed ring and notice the "+" continuation grip.
You can also connected to a bleed ring by start route 'PlantPipeAdd'>type ST for stub in> then by using the NEAREST snap pick the bleed ring. This will alow you to connect to a bleed ring. This process is the normal for tapping into any pipe object. No need to add a tapport first. Most of the time you can just use the nearest snap to attach. No need to create a seperate tap port.
You can also create a second port on bleed rings in the Catalog editor. By designating dimensions required fields..they are set to -2 to turn off the second port

hope this helps
Mike G (Autodesk)


Michael Gulnac
Technical Specialist
Organization
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
phwatso
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 3 of 7 (863 Views)

Re: Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

02-24-2011 08:24 AM in reply to: jcsu6206

Is there a solution to add tap ports to an end cap? Typically in AutoPlant we use a tee with an end cap to provide a drain point in a pipe line where condensate for example will collect and then be drained.

Valued Contributor
milic.srdjan
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 4 of 7 (753 Views)

Re: Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

04-06-2011 04:24 AM in reply to: phwatso

Ok...Anyone ...with solutions for a drain points on a caps...

 

Is it possible to make a cap with another connection on a end of a cap....so called "drainage caps"

 

I make a custom part "cap" in a spec editor , but i have problems with iso files...

Valued Contributor
phwatso
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 5 of 7 (750 Views)

Re: Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

04-06-2011 04:38 AM in reply to: jcsu6206

In the end we used the reducer part from the catalog and input the end cap dimensions, also changed the isogen symbol keys to CAP and KABW. It works OK and looks nearly right in the model.

Valued Contributor
milic.srdjan
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 6 of 7 (741 Views)

Re: Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

04-07-2011 04:19 AM in reply to: phwatso

Ok, This Works...

 

But can any one from team of AutoDesk PLANT can help us, whit this...

 

I think that drainage CAP is really important thing in Plant....that mean that plant design software must have as standard part, not custom part...

 

Here I will put some pictures, because I make a custom part...And it is easy to make with "PLANTPARTCONVERT" command...

 

But I do not understand why pipe that comes for a drainage have a break...

 

Model-Solid Rep

 

 

And wireframe Rep...

 

Wireframe rep

 

On a pictures You can see that cap is looking ok, and representation is good....

 

Booth connecting point working just fine in model, but when i try to make isometric I have a break on drain line...Cap SKEY work fine...

 

I do not understand Why I have break...on ISO dwg...and In model I do not have a leak problem...

 

SomeOne with solution....

 

Thanks in advance...

 

Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 7 of 7 (671 Views)

Re: Tap ports on caps and extra ports on bleed rings

06-23-2011 03:21 PM in reply to: phwatso

I tried that it looks all right in the 3d model but it mess up the ISO creation. I used CAP for ISO Syymbol Type and KABW for ISO SYMBOLl KEY.

 

I was able to fix it by changing the ISO key to that of a reducer.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.