AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 1 of 10 (1,696 Views)
Accepted Solution

Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

1696 Views, 9 Replies
10-17-2012 07:56 PM

We have a main line say DN 400 and a connecting line coming in at 33 degrees from a known point. Therefore I draw the 400 line and draw a construction line where we want the branch to come in. How do we make a connection at that point?

 

We have tried this, start the branch line, right click and select Stub-in and then select the end of the construction line, but this does not make a connection to the main line. It only works when I select Nearest or Midpoint of the main pipe.

 

Is there a way to add a marker or node, or any other suggestions.

Hi,

 

I did some more testing of this using the standard NEA osnap and that also works well and avoids the need for construction lines etc:

 

http://screencast.com/t/4vJK3mamoD1

 

Thanks,

Dan

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 2 of 10 (1,629 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-22-2012 05:27 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Hi,

 

You could:

 

  1. Draw construction lines along the header and stub-in axis lines.
  2. Draw a short section of the header pipe so it's midpoint is at the intersection of the construction lines.
  3. Place the stub-in at the midpoint at the required angle.
  4. Join up the pipes.

stubin.png

 

I hope this helps.

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 3 of 10 (1,616 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-22-2012 10:20 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Can you please Add screen shot Or Vidio

 

Thanks

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 4 of 10 (1,592 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-23-2012 04:49 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

Hi,

 

Here is a short video showing the method:

 

Stub-in

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,586 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-23-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

learning how to use the 'from' snap is the key to mastering stubins...and any kind of branch connection/support manipulation for that matter.

if you have a segment of pipe coming in at 33 degrees, first start the route continuation, then making sure you chose the stub in option from the command line, start you 'from' snap, then start an 'intersection' snap, pick both lines to generate the snap at the stub in location (or use the set out lines that intersect at this point), this will be your 'from' point, now you pick the 'perpendicular' snap to grab the point on the 400 line.

 

the stub in needs to snap to a location on the actual pipe centreline its stubing into, not the construction geometry.

 

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 10 (1,546 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-25-2012 05:13 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

Hi Rich,

 

I tested the FROM snap with a stub-in and wasn't able to get it to work. It resulted in a disconnection marker each time I tried.

 

Let me make sure I'm following the correct steps:

 

1. Start route from the branch line

2. Make sure stub-end is on

3. Start FROM snap

4. Snap override with intersection

5. Pick both lines

6. Snap override with perpendicular

7. Pick the header line

 

I think one improvement here would be the availability of object snap and tracking for pipe centerlines without the need for contruction lines, would you agree?

 

 

 



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 7 of 10 (1,496 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-29-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: jason.drew

ive just been doing some major upgrades...changed both laptop and pc to win7

added ssd drives for the os and apps, created raid for new hdd's, swapped out graphics cards and a couple of other bits and pieces, oc'ed cpu and gpu's etc

still sorting out network, settings & doing reinstalls of software...

 

I have had the from method working, but it was a bit finiky ...dependant on a certain pick order ill report back in next couple of days, when ive got everthing installed and up and running.

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 8 of 10 (1,481 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-30-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: jason.drew

thats the procedure i use ...just tested, it connects for me

just make sure when you pick for the perp snap that you are picking on the pipe and not the construction lines

 

most definately would be much better if you could 'build' a snap using just the pipes

as it is, you can only pick one of the pipes to start the intersection snap but then doesnt let you pick the second pipe. untill its fixed a little bit of construction line work will be required

 

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 9 of 10 (1,471 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

10-31-2012 03:18 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

Hi,

 

I did some more testing of this using the standard NEA osnap and that also works well and avoids the need for construction lines etc:

 

http://screencast.com/t/4vJK3mamoD1

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 10 of 10 (1,418 Views)

Re: Stub-in connection to main branch at known point

11-09-2012 03:40 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Thank you for your help, I have been away for the last couple of weeks.

 

The NEA Osnap works well, I also had a suggestion from Ask the Expert forum to use the line to pipe function on the construction lines. This works well for initial layout and the NEA osnap works well when the main line is already existing.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!