AutoCAD Plant 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Plant 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Plant 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SQL Project creation on SQL Server

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
798 Views, 6 Replies

SQL Project creation on SQL Server

Hi,

I am new to Plant and new to setting up projects on an SQL server so I need help with setting up an SQL project in Plant3D 2012.

I have set the project up in the project manager and completed all the information pertaining to the SQL database and used Windows Authentication for the access rights. The SQL server is correct and verified when I test the connection.

I have also used an exiting project to base the settings on as not to set the project up again.
Once I click create, this project does not appear in the drop down menu in my project manager.
My question is then, where is the project.xml file and how to I navigate to it and open my SQL project and thus share it with my team?

Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
dave.wolfe
in reply to: Anonymous

So, the only that is being moved to SQL Server are the four project databases (Process, Piping, Ortho, and Iso).  The file structure remains the same, so you have to tell it what folder you want the project in.  Not having seen the settings, I don't know where it got created, but the default location is in your Documents folder.  

I suspect that selecting the project settings as a reference may have messed something up.  You should probably copy the project first and then migrate it to SQL Server using the Maintenance exe in the installation directory.

Once the project has been migrated to SQL Server, you should be able to use its settings as a reference.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

Tips and Tricks on our blog: ASTI blog
EXPERT ELITE MEMBER
Plant 3D Wish list
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: dave.wolfe