AutoCAD Plant 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Plant 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Plant 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

spec setup and project setup

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
mnoventa
319 Views, 1 Reply

spec setup and project setup

Hello.

I am a newbie and I am tryingt to understand how Plant 3d works. I (with other colleagues) had a small training and I read "Autocad Plant 3d" by Sham Tickoo, but still I am pretty confused about the interconnections between specs and project setup.

For instance: if I want to create a new kind of nozzle for the equipments, I open the Spec editor, thus Catalog -> Open -> Nozzle catalog.acat

Now by default I am on the spec tab. If I go to the Catalog editor I can choose "Create new component" and create it with its measures (length, engagement length...).

Now the nozzle is available on Plant3d and I can insert it on an equipment but here I can set whatever length I choose. However, the nozzle won't have the shape I desidered when creating it on the spec editor.

Moreover, I seem to understand that the material is not important for the nozzle: materials for equipment and nozzles are just "labels" but do not have a particular importance (I created an AISI304 nozzle and put it with no difficulty on a PVC equipment). Is it so?

Another strange thing is that if I go back to the Spec editor,  thus Catalog -> Open -> Nozzle catalog.acat, if I do not open any spec (i.e. Aisi304) and I click on the Catalog editor tab I cannot go back to the Spec editor tab. Even so, if I search for the nozzle I previously created, I can find it on the list.

Nevertheless, if, after opening Nozzle catalog.acat, I open a spec (i.e. Aisi304) and then I go to the tab Catalog editor I cannot find the nozzle I created on the list, even if I inserted Aisi304 as the material of the nozzle. Quite strange in my opinion.