AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
awerning
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 1 of 10 (503 Views)
Accepted Solution

Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

503 Views, 9 Replies
08-30-2011 10:21 PM

It appears that in the "Edit Long Description Styles" dialog box of the Spec Editor for Plant 2012 I can make any desired changes, BUT I cannot use the "Apply" or "OK" buttons.  The only option is to use the "Cancel" button to get out of that dialog no matter if I make changes or not.  Since the "Cancel" is the only way out, no changes are ever saved and this renders this function useless in this build.

 

Can anyone verify these results?

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 2 of 10 (494 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 01:26 AM in reply to: awerning

In my spec editor all work correctly, bottoms "Accept" and "OK" usually are active:Sin título.png

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Mentor
awerning
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 3 of 10 (486 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 08:06 AM in reply to: awerning

Are you certain this is for the NEW version 2012?  Mine work just fine in 2011 but does NOT work in 2012.  Also, My buttons are active all the same, they just don't do anything when clicked on.  If you truly have verified this then maybe it is a difference in the English version (although, being a programmer myself, I can't see how that would affect it).  Can someone using the English version of 2012 please verify.

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 4 of 10 (480 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 08:41 AM in reply to: awerning

My version of Plant3D is English and it is 2012. It work correctly...

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
New Member
aaron_werning
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Message 5 of 10 (473 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 11:40 AM in reply to: awerning

Well...there are some very foreign words in your screen print there...just saying.  I understand you install may be English...but obviously something is different, because I don't see those foreign words in my application.  :smileywink:

 

Anyone else?

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 6 of 10 (468 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 01:47 PM in reply to: aaron_werning

I only was created new long description style with the name "Personalizado" and change the prefix to "Proba", other things are english... Don't exist another version of Plant3D, there is only English :smileywink:

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Mentor
awerning
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 7 of 10 (463 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 02:01 PM in reply to: awerning

Are you using Win7 64bit OS?

Employee
RSFAdsk
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎02-27-2009
Message 8 of 10 (456 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 03:15 PM in reply to: awerning

Hello,

 

I also experience this issue.  The 2012 default path of C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\AutoCAD Plant 3D 2012 - English\R18.2\enu\SpecEditor\LDStyles requires administrative rights to write to (image attached).  If you right-click the spec editor icon and Run as Administrator you should then be able to write to the folder.

 

In 2011 we required Administrative privileges to run the spec editor.  In 2012 we do not, but certain operations (for example: Spec Migration or Modify Shared Content Folder, and plantmodifysharredcontentfolder) still require it.  There should be a notification for this situation, but there is none.  I'll log this issue if it is not known.  Thank you for posting about this issue.

 

...One thing you can do is right-click the icon, and set the properties to always [x] Run as administrator (image attached).



Richard Frank
AEC Plant Solutions
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
RSFAdsk
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎02-27-2009
Message 9 of 10 (443 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

08-31-2011 04:06 PM in reply to: awerning

awerning wrote:

Are you using Win7 64bit OS?


In my test situation, yes.  And I notice on Vista 32 I do not have this issue.  So the error looks like it is OS specific.



Richard Frank
AEC Plant Solutions
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 10 of 10 (374 Views)

Re: Spec Editor - Edit Long Description Styles Bug

10-14-2011 09:25 AM in reply to: RSFAdsk

 

 

Currently I cann not import specs from Excel to Spec Editor. I tried running as adminstrator, but that does not seem to work.

 

 

For importing specs from Excel to Spec editor this is what  do (which is what I did for the 2011 version)

Export the files to a folder on my c drive

modify the specs

import it back to spec editor

accept all changes (everything stays yellow) while having ASME Pipe and fittings Catalog open

clicked apply

clicked ok

nothing happens

save it as a new file so I do not destroy ASME Pipe and fittings

 

I did not have it open as adminstrator when I exporting the specs, but I was running as an adminstrator when I imported the files.

 

Is there some step I am missing?

 

Is it like ISOmetric creation where my spec has to be called the exact same thing as AutoCADs?

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.