AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 1 of 6 (353 Views)
Accepted Solution

Setting up Project on EPDM Server?

353 Views, 5 Replies
03-30-2012 06:36 AM

Has anyone had any sucess setting up a project on an EPDM server? I have tried once and it let me go through the whole setup process but when i finished there was no project in the EPDM directory.

 

what we are trying to do is set up a project that can be accessed anywhere so that 2 users in different states can work on the same project at the same time. the EPDM server we have checks a drawing out and replicates it to your local hard drive for you to work on. when finished it checks it back in and updates the server.

I would be a bit cautious about using your EPDM sever based on this:

 

"The EPDM server we have checks a drawing out and replicates it to your local hard drive for you to work on. when

finished it checks it back in and updates the server."

 

AutoCAD Plant 3D and P&ID stores data in the project database and in the drawings themselves. If you copy a drawing externally, outside of Project Manager (for example through a third-party app, Windows Explorer, or in this case the EPDM server) you can run into issues with the drawings and database being out of sync or corrupted.

 

If you need access to a project from multiple offices I would suggest hosting the project on a file server and the database on Microsoft SQL Server Express at the main office. Then allow the remote offices access to the main office through a VPN or WAN connection (high speed/bandwidth connection.) Or, you can use something like Citrix or Terminal Services at the remote offices to eliminate the latecy of running across a slower connection. 

 

Contributor
Muddy_Plant3D
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 2 of 6 (343 Views)

Re: Setting up Project on EPDM Server?

03-30-2012 02:23 PM in reply to: thebearjed

I don't have the answer for you sorry, but interested to hear how the test goes. Is the people in each state going to be working on it at the same time? How have you overcome the issue of the database being checked out to a local hard drive and someone else working onthe project at the smae time?



Jarrod Mudford
Plant Solutions Consultant
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 3 of 6 (332 Views)

Re: Setting up Project on EPDM Server?

04-02-2012 05:59 AM in reply to: Muddy_Plant3D

i'll let you know if we get it working.

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 4 of 6 (319 Views)

Re: Setting up Project on EPDM Server?

04-11-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: thebearjed

I would be a bit cautious about using your EPDM sever based on this:

 

"The EPDM server we have checks a drawing out and replicates it to your local hard drive for you to work on. when

finished it checks it back in and updates the server."

 

AutoCAD Plant 3D and P&ID stores data in the project database and in the drawings themselves. If you copy a drawing externally, outside of Project Manager (for example through a third-party app, Windows Explorer, or in this case the EPDM server) you can run into issues with the drawings and database being out of sync or corrupted.

 

If you need access to a project from multiple offices I would suggest hosting the project on a file server and the database on Microsoft SQL Server Express at the main office. Then allow the remote offices access to the main office through a VPN or WAN connection (high speed/bandwidth connection.) Or, you can use something like Citrix or Terminal Services at the remote offices to eliminate the latecy of running across a slower connection. 

 



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 5 of 6 (314 Views)

Re: Setting up Project on EPDM Server?

04-11-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: jason.drew

thanks so much Jason. i will have to look into those options.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 6 (310 Views)

Re: Setting up Project on EPDM Server?

04-11-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: jason.drew

Out of curiosity, has AutoDesk (or any user here) done any testing for remote database server operations?  I've heard of attempts of doing this using AutoPLANT failing miserably, resulting in restrictions to only in-office SQL Server set ups.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.