AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
milic.srdjan
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 1 of 3 (372 Views)
Accepted Solution

Question - Pipe To Pipe Connection

372 Views, 2 Replies
03-21-2012 08:55 AM

I have a New straight Pipe , e. g diameter 30" and I wish to connect to old one , same diameter 30",

but, I can say "head to head" connection.

 

New straight Pipe have PipeTag , e.g.   30"-1020-AASS

Old straight Pipe have PipeTAG , e.g  30"-1020-AASS-RECO

 

New Pipe have layer name same as Tag

Old Pipe have name same as Tag

 

After connection, all pipes keep their layers , BUT BUT...

 

One straight Pipe take tag from another, and then I have one straight pipe with Tag 30"-1020-AASS, instead one straight pipe, with welding point, and two pipe segments, with two different PipeTags.

 

Is it possible to avoid this...

 

Milic

 

p.s Is it possible to make straight pipe, with several different straight segments with several different PipeTag

 

 

 

 

Place the length of pipe then add a field weld in the middle of it to split it? Then you can define different line numbers etc for each section, mark them as Existing or New etc.

 

You can then change the type of weld from FFW/FW to a SHOP weld if you want also.

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 550
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 3 (354 Views)

Re: Question - Pipe To Pipe Connection

03-22-2012 06:02 PM in reply to: milic.srdjan

Place the length of pipe then add a field weld in the middle of it to split it? Then you can define different line numbers etc for each section, mark them as Existing or New etc.

 

You can then change the type of weld from FFW/FW to a SHOP weld if you want also.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
milic.srdjan
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 3 of 3 (344 Views)

Re: Question - Pipe To Pipe Connection

03-23-2012 04:44 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Halo to Tomislav,

 

Can I give 10 kudos :smileyhappy:

 

This is great idea, great solution and I think We must put into Plant3D Course...A lot of time You have situation when You must make new pipe directly to old, in special in revamp...

 

Thank You very much

 

Srdjan Milic

 

 

Spoiler

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!