AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 1 of 6 (363 Views)

Preventing Isometric Spliting advice

363 Views, 5 Replies
11-29-2012 04:52 PM

Does anybody have any hints on how to stop the Iso splitting into 2 drawings.

 

Since I want the isometric to look the same each time I need this to be permanent in the Isostyle and not have the user change the settings in the Advanced Iso creation Options dialog during Isometric creation.

 

I have looked at changing the CongestionLevel in the Isoconfig file but this does not appear to take effect. Any help appreciated.

 

<Auto SplitSymbol="SplitMark" SpoolSplit="false" IdentifySpools="true" SplitOnCongestion="true" CongestionLevel="1" />

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 2 of 6 (342 Views)

Re: Preventing Isometric Spliting advice

11-30-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: PatrickByrne

refer my reply on the AtE page

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 3 of 6 (322 Views)

Re: Preventing Isometric Spliting advice

11-30-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

Thank you for your answer:  What i do is, once ive got the ISO's to the congestion/spliting level that I want, I go back through the model and add 'break points' (from the ISO tab when modeling) to the locations that the ISO split at, this then gives me consistent ISO break points and drawing numbers regardless of who does the ISO dump next time.”

 

We can have over 400 models so I was hoping to set this is the Isoconfig file. I am coming from a CadWorx background which uses Isogen. Isogen’s congestion default setting is excellent and I am usually happy where it splits the pipe line and the amount of information on the drawing. Plant 3D splits the pipe line into a lot more Isometric drawings and the resulting Isometric drawings are not as good. I know this will improve in later releases but for now I want to set the Congestion Level to 1 in the Isoconfig file.

 

Can I set this in the Isoconfig file and what other ways are there for improving the Isometric split without having to manually add break points.

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 670
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 4 of 6 (290 Views)

Re: Preventing Isometric Spliting advice

12-02-2012 07:47 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

You may want to check the thread below for setting the congestion level (I haven't tested this suggestion yet)

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Plant-3D/Force-iso-onto-one-sheet/m-p/3275015#M4196

 

You can try using user defined properties to split iso, if you think that might help you to align your isos better.

 

• Open the isoconfig.xml of your isostyle. Don't use the spool iso style here because we do now an overrunning of the Custom User Interface. So use for example the CHECK_A2 isostyle for testing.
• Search for the 'ModelBreakPoint' and change
o Change <Model Split="true" ModelSplitMethod="ModelBreakPoint">
o To --> <Model Split="true" ModelSplitMethod="PropertyChange">
o Also change the value for 'PropertyChange' to 'Anders' which is in this example your new user-defined property.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 5 of 6 (269 Views)

Re: Preventing Isometric Spliting advice

12-03-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian
Spoiler
Dear Autodesk Support

Can you please give more specific for below part

 

o Also change the value for 'PropertyChange' to 'Anders' which is in this example your new user-defined property

 

Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 6 of 6 (262 Views)

Re: Preventing Isometric Spliting advice

12-03-2012 04:41 PM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

 

No luck, could you explain further

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.