AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 7 (309 Views)

Plotting issue

309 Views, 6 Replies
11-14-2011 12:52 PM

I am using a mix of ORTHO views and the <view> command for a drawing set. the ortho views that I imported into the SSM work fine, all geometry shows up. The views I have from the <view> command and the SSM, some of the piping geometry

does not show up.  all of the piping is on the same layer.  same properties.  just some do not show up.

 

Also, the views always plot as <3d hidden> regardless of what I set and save them at on the sheet.  As a trial, I changed one sheet to <shaded> and plotted it showed as <3d hidden> then changed to <2d wireframe> and plotted it showing <3d hidden>

 

I am running out of ideas.

 

anyone have a suggestion?

 

John.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 2 of 7 (286 Views)

Re: Plotting issue

11-15-2011 06:43 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Hi,

 

Can you please provide us the drawing and also a screenshot of the plot settings.Please also attach the plot styles, if you are using any.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 3 of 7 (275 Views)

Re: Plotting issue

11-16-2011 09:55 AM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

what email should I send the drawing to?

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 4 of 7 (267 Views)

Re: Plotting issue

11-16-2011 03:36 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

couple of things to check/try/play with

on the properties tab of the viewport you can set 'shade plot'

also top left area of print dialogue box has shade plot drop down

different combos between these can affect the output

 

although, the views generated using the ortho part of plant arent viewports looking at the model, they are like using solprof...you get what you get, no adjusting display settings, they are a snapshot of a view in the model with hidden edges removed

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 5 of 7 (261 Views)

Re: Plotting issue

11-16-2011 03:54 PM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

ok I can change how it plots and it's working properly again - strage that happened in the first place.

thanks for pointing out the <shade plot> in the properties.

 

The geometry is still missing in <hidden> <3d hidden>

it shows up with <wireframe> and <shades of grey> etc. during plots

 

Visually everything is ok in the viewport.

 

This is the first time I have used ortho views ( new to plant 3d )

I have always used <3d hidden> with views with the sheet set manager with no issues.

 

it's a bit upsetting that Ortho views and the SSM are not compatable. ( cannot linked ortho views to the sheet view tab )

 

Still having some of the geometry missing in hidden styles but visible on wireframe and shaded style plots is strange.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 6 of 7 (258 Views)

Re: Plotting issue

11-16-2011 08:26 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

I have sent you a private message with an FTP link to upload the files. Can you please upload it there.

 

Thank you.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Contributor
dsmeisle
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-11-2010
Message 7 of 7 (133 Views)

Re: Plotting issue

05-04-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Was a solution for this issue ever found?  I and (2) other designers here are having the same problem in three different models.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.