AutoCAD Plant 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Plant 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Plant 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PLANT 3D: DWG to PSPX ? How to take custom DWG parts and add them to a spec?

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
539 Views, 3 Replies

PLANT 3D: DWG to PSPX ? How to take custom DWG parts and add them to a spec?

I am new to plant 3d, and autodesk products. Is there a way to take a custom part DWG drawing and convert it to PSPX? I want to create a spec for custom parts that are currently in DWG format. Lets say I have " 250" DWG drawings that I want to make a spec for so I can save it to a current project and load the " valves, fittings, tubing  etc.. "  without having to open the DWG copy and paste it into the new drawing. 

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
dave.wolfe
in reply to: Anonymous

Well, the workflow is to add a custom part to a catalog and then include it in the spec.

Also, if you are going to create block-based parts, and you are going to share them, you need to move the content to the network or have it copied to all the users  local drives. It's generally easier to move the content to the network before creating the block-based parts, but it can be done after the fact.

http://docs.autodesk.com/PLNT3D/2015/ENU/pdf/Tailoring_AutoCAD_PnID_and_Plant_3D.pdf#page=117

http://www.pdoteam.com/2011/10/custom-components-in-autocad-plant-3d/

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

Tips and Tricks on our blog: ASTI blog
EXPERT ELITE MEMBER
Plant 3D Wish list
Message 3 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: dave.wolfe